Many Hands at Home: The Family Gallery

Image

Remember the thrill when your mom taped your drawing to the refrigerator, for all the world to see? Has you work been on display anywhere since? It’s still exciting, right?

If you’ve been reading along, you know that I love the full range of human made, from the most skilled to the most  . . . shall we say, inexpert. I just like the idea that people are creating and making and doing, rather than watching others create and make and do.

So, it seems fitting that we have, in our home, a gallery to show off the artwork of family. All of the family. Whether they like it or not.

We have mostly paintings and some needlework. The artists are: my grandmother, my grandfather, my mother, my husband, my mother’s husband, my husband’s mother, my mother’s husband’s mother (getting confused yet?!), my sister, my niece and me!

Some of the artists have a lot of experience and some never created a single work before they made one for this gallery. I love every single piece of art. Not to mention the artists!

Here’s to the artist in all of us, and our busy hands at home! Keep what you make on display!

ImageImageImage

Image

5 thoughts on “Many Hands at Home: The Family Gallery

  1. Very cool! Our fridge is covered with child art. My art is on the walls. I make it to sell and somehow usually talk myself out of listing it! I need to be brave and take the plunge!

Leave a Reply

