Why Vintage? Reason #2

re-use-6A few days ago I began what will be a short series by asking, “Why vintage?” What is it about clothing and home décor and cars of decades past that appeals to people?

The first reason I discussed was the fashion appeal of vintage design. Today I’ll talk about impulse to buy and use vintage because of a sense of ethics.

2) It’s a choice motivated by a sense of ethics

What’s so ethical about vintage? Well, when you start to think about it, quite a lot.

In a world with a lot of huge landfills, full of throwaways and discards, the idea of using what we already have appeals to a lot of people.

One of my favorite blogs is Garbage Finds. The author is spending several months picking through garbage, full-time, in Montreal. He is going through garbage bags, looking for the usable and sellable, and chronicling his use and his sales. It’s fascinating! The author explains the ethical stance on the re-use of used and vintage items much better than I can:

I want to change the way people look at the ‘things’ in their life and get them thinking about how to reduce waste. I hope to raise awareness about the value that even broken possessions may still have and show that there are people out there who can make good use of ‘garbage.’ This increased awareness serves to reduce the amount of waste our society creates, which has many different benefits. Reducing waste is great for the environment. It means we have to mine less, manufacture less, grow less, and put less in landfills.

The blog chronicles his finds, and their value, both in monetary term and in terms of the ways he and others make use of what someone else considered trash. Go look—you’ll be amazed at what he’s found! And it’ll make you wonder about what you’ve thrown away!

Lots of people are recycling, repurposing, upcycling, just not to this extreme. And at least some of that behavior has encouraged a new look at vintage items that are perfectly good (and, in some cases, much better than we can buy now . . .but we’ll get to that later).

You don’t have to open trash bags by the side of the road! I challenge you to go out to a few garage sales. Many of the garage sales you’ll go to will have full sets of dishes–some gorgeous china, some for everyday, all inexpensive. Every sale will have glassware. Pyrex dishes. Silverware. Salad spinners. And that’s just the kitchen stuff.

When you think about it, doing a little home furnishing using vintage finds is the same impulse as adopting a pet from the SPCA, instead of going to a puppy mill. Many people say why not save a life?

I’m one of these people. I’ve said that I don’t choose vintage because it’s fashionable but I do like the idea of using vintage as a way to reduce waste when old stuff will serve me well.

But, don’t get me wrong—I like nice things! I get an enormous kick out of walking around my house and identifying the really nice furniture, and quality house wares, and gorgeous linens that came from garage sales and flea markets. Why would I use paper napkins (and throw them away), when I have dozens of elegant cloth napkins that can be re-used? And look good at the same time!

And, like many others who are into vintage re-use, I “upcycle.” That’s an awkward new verb that means to take something old and turn it into something new, and maybe better. I think it’s a fun challenge to see what I can do with damaged vintage items, rather than throw them away.

The curtains used to be a tablecloth with a BIG hole.

The curtains used to be a tablecloth with a BIG hole.

A cedar sachet, made with scraps of old dish towels.

A cedar sachet, made with scraps of old dish towels.

Not to waste a bit of a great towel, I covered buttons with more scraps!

Not to waste a bit of a great towel, I covered buttons with more scraps!

Now, of course, right at this moment in time, it’s fashionable to recycle and upcycle and go green, so the lines get blurred between my reasons 1 and 2. In our next installment, we’ll talk about how people also save money AND get great quality by buying vintage.

In the meantime, ask yourself—are there ways you can (or already do) achieve the look you want while maintaining a commitment to wasting less and recycling more?

19 thoughts on “Why Vintage? Reason #2

  1. Yes. well said! I have been using ‘second-hand and discarded items’ for many of years to decorate my home. First out of necessity (a small wallet;0)) but soon I discovered what fun it is and I was also amazed and sometimes horrified to find what perfect and lovely stuff people throw away. I love my found ,rescued, and treasured stuff. To me it gives my home a warm and creative originality. BTW love those curtains!

    • Some folks just want new stuff every few years–like my father wanted a new car! The rest of us benefit because we can get great buys! Thanks for liking the curtains–my sewing skills are minimal but the tablecloth was so pretty!

    • Thanks! Get yourself one of those Drtiz kits they sell at the fabric stores and you, too can make some! Let me know if you need a damaged dish towel–I have lots!!

  2. I also love your curtains. I had a green Christmas tablecloth and I cut a hole in the center and it is now our Christmas tree skirt 🙂

  3. This is a great post. I was at a yard sale yesterday and bought 2 beautifully embroidered linens. The seller said they were made by his mother. Oh well, his loss is my gain! Your post give me some great ideas for how to use my little gems.

    • Lucky you! I have found that men often undervalue those things at garage sales. I bought a handmade quilt from a man for $3!! His wife, who had died, made it. The same man was selling his tools and asking HUGE prices. But the quilt got a good home!

  4. Pingback: Why Vintage? Reason #3 | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  5. Pingback: Why Vintage? Reason #4 | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  6. Pingback: Why Vintage? Reason #5 | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  7. Pingback: Vintage Items For Sale!!! | Culturedig.netCulturedig.net

Leave a Reply

