Quilting Hands at Home: An Adirondack Quilt Show

A huge space, filled with of handmade quilts, on a brisk autumn day! When the biennial show of the Champlain Valley Quilters’ Guild of New York opened a couple of weeks ago, the colors inside the building rivaled those on the sugar maples outside. But the colors on the quilts will last long after the leaves have fallen!

I’ve said elsewhere that I think quilting is, just maybe, the quintessential expression of “loving hands at home.” It conjures images of regular people, using what they have on hand, to create a practical item that transcends the maker and the purpose. The time commitment in making a quilt is not undertaken lightly and the finished quilt envelops and warms the recipient, and brings beauty to any space. To see nearly 300 quilts and other textile projects on display is to see thousands of hours of work and love made tangible.

The photos sort of speak for themselves. Like every quilt show, this one was pure eye candy.

Many of the quilters had participated in a “mystery quilt” challenge, in which they were instructed to choose fabrics along certain guidelines and then follow instructions that were communicated periodically, so the beauty of each woman’s quilt (and, yes, they were all women—no men in this guild at all!) would be revealed slowly. These quilts were displayed together and the range of colors choices was fascinating!

Probably every quilt show has a regional angle or flavor. This one was no different. These quilters are based in the Adirondacks and Lake Champlain region of upstate New York so many of the quilt reflected the colors and subject matter of the area.

I am pretty bummed to say that I did not win the raffle quilt but I did pick up a copy of the Quilters’ Guild cookbook, which they compiled a few years ago. I love these community-based cookbooks for their old-fashioned, and often downright quirky, recipes.

This recipe book reflects the region just as the quilts themselves did. It has far more recipes for desserts and sweets than anything else, with an emphasis on apples and maple syrup, of course!

I’ll leave you with their “Recipe for Happiness This Year” (slightly edited to match my writing rules!)

Ingredients:

Water, Meals, Plants, 3 Es, Books, Exercise, Family and Friends, Excess

Directions:

Drink plenty of water. Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a beggar. Large meals earlier in the day are healthier for you. Eat more foods that grow as plants and eat less food that is manufactured in plants. Live with the 3 Es: energy, enthusiasm, and empathy. Read more books this year than you did last year. Take a 10-30 minute walk daily and, while you walk, smile.  Realize no one is in charge of your happiness except you. Call your friends and family often. Each day, give something good to others and get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful, or joyful.

26 thoughts on “Quilting Hands at Home: An Adirondack Quilt Show

  1. Wow, such creative artists! Incredible, how you must have enjoyed this! Thank you for sharing your photos so we can have a peek too. And thank you for the recipe as well…it is a good one ;0) ♥ Johanna

    • Same here–I love old beat-up quilts as much as spiffy newer ones. I have a photo of me as a tiny baby, lying on a gorgeous quilt, and it drives me crazy that I don’t know what became of that quilt!

      Thanks for taking the time to look so carefully at all the photos–the artists would be honored, I’m sure!

      • As I said, I can’t get enough of quilts when I see them. And it would drive me nuts not knowing what became of a beautiful quilt if I were lying on it as a baby.

  2. we have a quilt my mother-in-law made years ago. it’s the ugliest of colors. but we love it all the same – not for its looks but for its comfort. when our children were little, they all fought for it on cold nights. over time it has become thin, worn + ragged around the edges and just seems to get better + better! each spring, after careful repairs, i carefully tuck it away in its closet until the next cool night arrives. and when the girls come to visit now, it’s stil the first thing they reach for. love the memory it holds! (and love your recipe!)

  3. There is nothing like a quilt show to make you want to go home and start making something creative and colorful 🙂 Annie

    • What I hope is that it inspires me to FINISH something creative and colorful I’ve been working on for a long time. If I do, you folks will be among the first to know! 😉

  4. These are stunning! I have only ever made one quilt – a baby quilt. I admire all quilters for their patience 🙂 And thank you for sharing the “recipe” – great advice!

    • Quilters are amazingly patient–you have to really love the process, not just the product, to be willing to commit so much time to it. I thought the recipe was very sweet, too!

  5. Pingback: Joining A Quilt Guild–IBMTD #2 | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  6. It must have been gorgeous quilt show. All are very beautiful, well done, nice pattern and colors are in harmony. I love them.

    My wife has been quilter and yet today she quilts. Once a year we visit quilt shows in Finland and admire how skillful people can be.

    I am not sure if You have any idea how our quilts are looking, so my link:

    Finnish quilts.

    Maybe You’ll find some inspirations among them.

    • I think it’s so interesting how the quilts in your show and the show I saw reflect the area in which the quilts were made. Very distinctive styles and subject matter!

Leave a Reply

