What Ever Happened to IBMTD??

mop lady

What does she have to smile about?!

Do you remember me setting a goal for myself? Something to do with the letters IBMTD?

You’re forgiven if you didn’t remember because it’s been one heck of a long time since I’ve mentioned it. And, if you did remember, you’re forgiven for thinking I might be just another big talker with New Year resolutions that went “poof” after a couple of months.

I was going to tell you all about the things I’ve Been Meaning to Do, and how I’d done them.

The fact of the matter is I still have things I’ve been meaning to do but I figure you don’t want to read blog posts on topics like, “I’ve been meaning to wash the kitchen floor,” “I’ve been meaning to call my mother,” and “I’ve been meaning to get outside and exercise my sorry butt.”

Life is a little busy and a little overwhelming right now. The clock is ticking on the deadline for that quilt I’d been meaning to make. The weaving class I’d been meaning to take has ended and turned into a new class, meeting twice as often. And I signed up for another chance to sell my candy in a face-to-face setting, at a Mothers’ Day holiday boutique in a couple of weeks.

It’s not all work and no play, of course (and, of course, even the work is play in its own right!) I went to a pancake breakfast. We’re getting caught up with friends who finally saw fit to come back north from Florida. I go out to lunch with my sweet husband regularly and often make room for a beer! I stop by here to talk and listen to you, my stress relievers.

Someday I’ll get back to new adventures and, when I do, you’ll be the first to know! In the meantime, I’ve been meaning to wash that kitchen floor . . . .

36 thoughts on “What Ever Happened to IBMTD??

  1. I was just going to say the same thing…forget about that kitchen floor. It will be there waiting for you whenever you get around to it. Priorities are lunch and beer and not necessarily in that order, never mind all those more important things you have to do!

  2. This sounds as though it should be like the game “I went shopping and I bought….” only we can say “I’ve been meaning to wash the kitchen floor.” And then someone else, like me, can add, “I’ve been meaning to wash the kitchen floor and clean the windows..” And on it would go, until the cows came home, and then some. Then when we got tired of the game, you could piece all the IBMTDs we came up with into a lovely quilt. 😀

    • Now, that’s a wonderful, creative idea! Turn all the chores into cunning little quilt blocks and make something beautiful out them! And since we’d all be doing it together, we’d have a ton of fun!

      • We certainly would. And that actually goes to the heart of the housework ‘problem’ which is that it has become a fairly solitary chore. When I look back at older times (a great aunt’s diary for example) chores were done together in larger families. The housework was hard but there was company as you worked. That makes all the difference… “Many hands make light work” is the expression, I think.

  3. It’s amazing how that kitchen floor gets pushed to the end of the list every day…lol 🙂 There are just too many other pressing or fun things to do!
    But I think we can all understand. I could write a whole list of things I’ve been meaning to do! A few things have gotten done, but the list still grows each day!

    • My list grows, too. And, when I see all the new things you’re doing, by reading your blog, I am amazed at how much you fit in! Don’t you bother with the kitchen floor, okay?

  4. I would hate to tell you how long my IBMTD list is! I don’t worry about it anymore. I get the critical stuff done and the rest will be done eventually. Being with friends and hubby are much more important than a clean floor!

    • Sorry I didn’t respond sooner–I lost track of the blog for a bit! I’m not too hung up on the chores but sometimes there are just so many things I want to do I get in over my head . . . like now!

  5. Ugh — my kitchen floor has been giving me the side-eye for a few weeks. I just keep ignoring it and drinking more beer! 😉 Good luck on the list — life is always crazy busy, but it sure does feel nice to accomplish something you’ve been meaning to do.

    • “Responding to blog comments” was on the list–and it took me awhile to get here! I do believe that drinking beer WHILE cleaning the kitchen floor might just be my answer!

      • Drunk cleaning is a great thing! =) I like to clean my house after having people over for drinks/dinner/more drinks and in the morning I thank the “drunk elves” for being so diligent. They do good work!

  6. I’ve been meaning to scrub the kitchen floor maybe that lady just enjoys cleaning, so she can clean mine as well. Oh yes I had a friend who really used to enjoy cleaning. Clean flours are equally important. Have a clean Easter weekend!

  7. I am hoping that the Easter Bunny will come and clean up all the meadow hay which is strewn through my house as a result of taking his photo!
    My motto is “Be creative: make a mess”. Which is my excuse. I love a tidy house…..one day! -Karen

    • I can’t believe I got so far behind on responding to comments! Meadow hay is the one thing I don’t have on my kitchen floor but, if making a mess means being creative, then I think I must be very creative! I like that way of seeing things.

  8. You need a round tooit! They sell them in seaside towns here. It’s best if you get a few so when you have a job to do that you don’t really want to do you can just say, “I’ll get a round tooit.” Get a round tooit out of the cupboard and there you are, job done! 😀

  9. Having lots of weaving commitments doesn’t sound too bad to me! And, enjoy selling your candy, that sounds like a fun event to be at 🙂 You don’t have to get everything ticked off your list at the same time! xx

Leave a Reply

