Goodnight, Sweet Geraniums . . .

An update on my sweet geraniums–they came through the winter fine! They’ve repeated the cycle I described here–zombie white, to hot pink, to new green–and are ready for a fabulous summer! I am, too-are you?

Love Those "Hands at Home"

IMG_3447I did one of my least favorite preparing-the-garden-for-winter chores this week. I cut back my geraniums and put them in the dark for the next 6 months.

The whole process of putting gardens to bed in the fall makes me sad. All those beautiful annuals, which gave so much all summer, go to the compost pile. The perennials, some still doing their best to produce flowers, get cut way back.

I’m not going to tell you how I talk to the plants as I cut them back and consign them to compost. It’s a little embarrassing. But it does make me feel better, to reassure them that they were wonderful.

The geraniums, for me, are the most difficult. They still look so completely fabulous, in the traditional red and this crazy-pretty salmon color.

IMG_1025The only thing that makes me feel better is that, with a little luck, some of these…

View original post 461 more words

23 thoughts on “Goodnight, Sweet Geraniums . . .

  1. Yes I am! I Love your Geraniums and I admire your choice of colours, especially as they are exactly the same colours as my own.
    The only trouble is, that yesterday I decided to pot mine out into my tubs and discovered that they all had vine weevils in the pots! I thought they had looked a little unwell, but thought it was due to them needing new compost. These plants had been in new compost in the greenhouse all Winter. Today, I am watering all my tubs (especially those with my Box topiary in, to make sure they are safe. Vine Weevils eat all the roots and kill the plants. I never use chemicals, but as this problem is in tubs only, it is not too bad and will not affect the rest of the garden.
    I hope that you do not have Vine Weevils!

    • I’ve never even heard of vine weevils! Now I have something new to worry about. 😦 Will you lose all your plants or did you catch them soon enough?

    • I’m always SURE they won’t make it back, when I take them out of the cellar. but every year, they prove me wrong and bounce back better than ever!

  2. As a new fan I went back to the original and read the whole post. It is a beautiful paean of praise to the wonders of nature! I too love geraniums – for so many reasons! Though we do not need to dig our plants up in our more temperate climate, I do have an Austrian friend whom I have witnessed in action with hers. She has a whole bathroom in her family ‘mansion’ that is given over to the care of hundreds of geraniums for six months of the year in order for her many window boxes to be picture perfect for the Tyrolean summer. I have a couple in pots on the back step πŸ™‚

    • A few pots are MUCH more my speed, too, although I bet your friend’s display is beyond spectacular. I envy you the option of leaving your plants out all year. My mother lives in Florida for part of the year and they have such loveliness year round, too. Maybe I appreciate it more because I have it for only a brief time?

      • Yes, I think so – also having to do that amount of tending and caring for your plants has to make them even more precious! There is always an up side! πŸ™‚

    • Johanna! I am so happy to see you back! I’ve missed your blog and your support–it sounds like you’ve been busy with lots of exciting work and good times. I’ll go follow your new blog right away and look forward to updates! Yay!

  3. I was so happy to see my roses start to come back this year! This was my first year for them and I had no idea how to care for them. I finally cut back all the old as new has emerged!

Leave a Reply

