Stray Needs “Forever” Home: A Vintage Giveaway

IMG_2531This sweet towel is one of the first items I listed when I opened my Etsy shop almost three years ago. You may recall that I see my shop as a sort of SPCA for unwanted linens.

Many other items have sold in the meantime but this little towel just sits and waits. I’ve begun to feel very sorry for it—it deserves a loving home. I could lower the price so it might sell but, honestly, I’d rather give it to someone who would really appreciate it than to sell it to someone who isn’t willing to spend ten dollars for it.

So, if you think this pretty towel would make a nice addition to your kitchen and would promise to love it forever, leave a comment assuring me of that. I’ll choose a random winner (assuming more than one person wants the towel!) next Sunday.

IMG_2528And to sweeten the pot, I’ll also send the winner a balsam sachet I made. I made it with the cathedral window piecing design and used bits of damaged vintage linens, with embroidery, in the “windows.” It’s filled with Adirondack balsam needles and smells yummy!

yellow green emb 1-4Leave me a comment if you’d like your name entered in the giveaway; anyone is eligible so international readers can get in on this, too!

** Edited to add: If the winner lives in a country that will not allow balsam to be shipped in, as seems to be the case with New Zealand, just let me know and I’ll send the towel only!

44 thoughts on “Stray Needs “Forever” Home: A Vintage Giveaway

  1. Well, of course, I would love it but our bio-security would not allow me to have the gorgeous balsam sachet (almost 100% certain of that) so perhaps best not to enter my name. Just put me down as an admirer. 🙂

  2. Three years is a long time for this sweet towel to wait for its forever home. Please enter me in the giveaway. I promise to treasure it!

  3. It is a beautiful towel, with such perfect, tidy stitching – I love to see such fine work (and can only hope mine measures up, although I’m not so sure sometimes…). 🙂 The sachet you made is so lovely, very creative (and it must smell amazing!). They would be delightful items to have!

  4. Balsam/pine is my absolute fave fragrance!!! I have an embroidered towel hanging out now that would love a companion!!! These are treasures for sure!!!!! Heirloom linens are getting quite scarce and need to be loved in their “old age”!!!!!! Hugs……………………..

    • I’m glad you see the value in the vintage linens–it makes me happy to know that people appreciate them! And I love the balsam smell, too–it never fails to make me smile. I added your name to the giveaway list!

  5. Jeepers Kerry, I just love living in my country – but really, sometimes our border policing is ridiculous! I adore the scent of balsam and this is entirely the right time of year to be having it waft through the house – now I shall have to go and purchase some essential oil in order to appease my sudden longing 🙂 The linen is lovely, but it was the sachet that really took my eye.

    It also pleases me that you include international readers in your give-away, as so many do not. Personally, I never discriminate like that 🙂 I must go and check out your Etsy store 🙂

    • The last time I did a giveaway, it was for the chocolates I make and I couldn’t do an international offer–I can’t imagine what chocolate would look/taste like after a trip around the world! The little towel will hold up just fine, though. Sorry about the balsam–it never occurred to me that some places would disallow it!

  6. The towel is lovely, and I would enjoy using it regularly while appreciating the skill of the anonymous embroiderer who made it. (I’m not sure whether that fits the definition of loved when it comes to a vintage item.) We have a dishwasher, but my husband and I generally wash our dishes by hand. With just the two of us, there generally aren’t that many dishes and we enjoy talking while he washes them and I dry them.

  7. lovely teatowel and I’m embarrassed to say I’ve not known what balsam is.. is it a herb or flower.. LOL.. okie.. I’m going to goggle it now.. thank you for a chance to win. 😉

    • Oh, sorry! Balsam is a kind of fir tree that I just learned grows only in North America. It has a lovely piney scent and, in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York, the needles are used in little pillows. It brings the scent of the outdoors in. I put your name on the list!

    • Oh, yes! I should’ve made people promise not to use scissors! My rule is “no cutting up undamaged linens”–I will just have to hope the winner agrees! Your name is on the list now!

  8. Oh Kerry, be still my heart!! A possibility to win that beautiful towel and cherish it forever, having it on display in my kitchen with my vintage teapot and fruit bowl on a pretty tray??? I love the embroidery on white and the colored lines. And than on top of that, the artful sachet…I would put that in my wooden bowl with my knitting and crocheting, thinking of Kerry in Maine whilst I smell the balsam and admire the skillful sewing.
    It is too much, I won’t sleep a wink until Sunday;0) xoxoxo Johanna

  9. How can that be, that your lovely tea towel wasn’t purchased years ago?! It’s funny what attracts one’s eye. And your satchel, I would love to see the process you use to make it. It’s extremely pretty and I’m sure the aroma is amazing!

    From reading everyone’s comments, I’m assured these treasures will go to a very good and loving home. I look forward to seeing who wins! Such fun!!

    • The process for the little sachet is based on the cathedral window quilt pattern (although it isn’t really a quilt but a way of folding fabrics and stitching them). I’ve thought about doing a tutorial for making these little sachets but haven’t gotten around to it. This website has a good tutorial:
      http://ajpadilla.com/tutorials/cathedral-windows

      I’ve added your name to my giveaway list!

      • Yes I thought it was based on a quilt pattern. I think I’m very attracted to it because of the fabric you used too, it makes a lovely package.

        Thank you for the link Kerry!

      • I talked to a woman who was making a bed-sized cathedral window coverlet, using bits of damaged “cutter” linens for all the little “window” sections in the design. I was absolutely smitten by the idea!

    • I don’t know the history on this one. So, if you win you can make up a lovely story about the dear old granny who made it for you! 😉 Your name s on the giveaway list!

  10. How very fabulous! Please throw my hat into the mix – we run a house especially for forgotten, unloved linen..we find they respond exceedingly well and have even been known to crease in pleasure!! xxx

  11. Oh Kerry, what a lovely idea! I do feel that it is such a shame that you and I can not meet because we share such a love of searching for fragments of linen with their stitched in nostalgia and beauty. The highlight of my week is the 5 a.m trip to the market to pick up such things, alongside old garden statues, wire work and china- oh, the china! No one wants the china anymore, even the handpainted 18th century treasures.
    Please do not include my name in the competition, I regularly get a high from some vintage treasure discovery and I would just love someone else to get that thrill and to feel the joy of holding such precious things in their hands for the first time. The winner will be so happy!
    What a lovely post and what a generous and sweet- natured act of kindness!
    Karen.

    • I’m going to say it again–I hope you get sweetbabyvintage going someday so I can see your treasures! It would be like having a virtual outing with you! I’m sure you have many of your own beloved bits of linen already so it’s a very generous idea to let this towel go to someone else!

  12. Oh Kerry, what a lovely idea! I do feel that it is such a shame that you and I can not meet because we share such a love of searching for fragments of linen with their stitched in nostalgia and beauty. The highlight of my week is the 5 a.m trip to the market to pick up such things,
    alongside old garden statues, wire work and china- oh, the china! No one wants the china anymore, even the handpainted 18th century treasures.
    Please do not include my name in the competition, I regularly get a high from some vintage treasure discovery and I would just love someone else to get that thrill and to feel the joy of holding such precious things in their hands for the first time. The winner will be so happy!
    What a lovely post and what a generous and sweet- natured act of kindness!
    Karen.

  13. Pingback: Vintage Towel Giveaway–The Winner! | Love Those "Hands at Home"

Leave a Reply

