Pride Goeth . . .

shuttle and bookI’ve heard it said that bad things come in threes.

If that’s true, what can we expect of annoying things? Do they come in fives? Eights? Eights to the nth power?

We’re in one of those pesky annoying stretches around here.

First, it was the brakes on the car. Again. They grind and make other scary sounds. The car is, admittedly, 12 years old but still.

Then it was the water heater, refusing to do what water heaters are designed to do.

Then it was the sump pump, giving notice that it had been worked too hard and was retiring from service. The sump pump repair guy came yesterday, which meant we had to cancel our planned outing to Montreal’s Marché Jean-Talon, which, in turn, left me blog-postless today. Instead of photos of lush fruit and lovely veg in a fabulous urban setting, you get whining. It’s not my fault.

And, as if it wasn’t enough that all the machines around here have decided to break down at once, our craft heaven on the banks of Lake Champlain has turned, if not into hell, at least into a little bit of purgatory.

We’ve had twisted threads, uneven tension, and big gloppy tangles of threads on the looms. Color combinations that sounded striking in theory and are oh-so-boring in reality. I have repeatedly lost my place in my weaving pattern (every time a repairman comes to the door!), at which time I stand and look blankly at the loom and wonder why, why would I want to do this stupid craft anyway?

I’ve had to un-weave multiple inches of fabric, which is second only to unquilting in terms of soul-sucking tedium. These are hours of my life that I am never going to have back again.

I finally left the loom but even the supposedly super-simple fabric yoyos are tormenting me, refusing to be either super or simple.

If purgatory is the place one goes to expiate sins, before being allowed into heaven, I have to wonder what my sins have been?

Not sloth—I mean I’m trying hard, I’m just not succeeding. Not wrath—although I admit to feeling pretty piqued about the unweaving. Not any of those other naughty things but . . .

I think it must be hubris, over-weaning pride, that’s always gotten me in trouble in my making of things. I start to feel a little cocky, a little sure of myself, and the craft goddesses feel the need to give me a smackdown; they remind me that I am a striver, not an expert in these things.

Okay, craft goddesses, are you listening? I get the message! I am chastened! I repent. Now, can I get back to domestic paradise? Please?

Do you have days when nothing goes right? What do you suppose neurosurgeons do on those days?!

43 thoughts on “Pride Goeth . . .

  1. That last question is far too unsettling, thank you very much!!!!! Yes, I, too, have had those moments of comfortable complacency…thinking all’s right with the world as I mindlessly stitch===only to discover that the bobbin has become a nest-building menace in the shadows and “frogging” will be the undesirable past time for many moments!!!! Ah yes……the joys of creativity!!!!! LOL!

    • Maybe one of the things that really defines us as crafters is our willingness to continue making things, even when we have days like this! We don’t just chuck it all in the trash!

      • There is much to be gained in “pushing through” on those projects. The outcome may not be the ‘fave’ but there is a discipline learned in the process.
        Have a great weekend!!!! Uber hugs………………………..

  2. At least you’ve got those three bad things out of the way. It would be worse if only two bad things happened and you were waiting…waiting for the third thing…wondering what it might be. Now you don’t have to worry about it. You can sit quietly at your loom and concentrate on what you’re doing and domestic paradise will return.

    • It’s funny but you’re right–the next session of weaving went so much better. It was almost like I had a little breakthrough. Until the next jinxed session, of course!

  3. Hopefully they don’t operate! I have had so many of these days, I can’t count them all. The fabric that WILL NOT behave, cutting through the main part of the garment while trimming seams …….. on and on. I’ve unquilted too and boy they come out a lot harder than they went in!

    • I don’t knit or crochet very much but I was thinking that those are two crafts that are easy to undo–just pull that thread and watch it unravel! But, as you say, the stitched seams come out hard AND you have to pay such close attention to be sure you don’t cut something you didn’t mean to cut. UGH!

  4. Oh what a delcious grumble and whine: that is the right thing to do. Just sit down and have a wail, tear that hair and howl to the moon ( it will probably be overcast….) Get one of your dainty little vintage handkerchiefs and sniffle and sobb a little more. Than a few hiccups and deep sighs….ah the worst is over now.
    And after all this rightfully so bawling over hands and machinery that won’t cooperate..have chocolate, a glass of wine, enjoy that nice garden. I know,next to impossible, but just sit down, do nothing but smell roses (thyme in your case).
    You will probably get up in no time and address the mutiny in your household apparatus and art&crafts department with a stern attitude and they will obey again or they do not know what is coming to them!
    Good luck, my dear, all will be right again. xoxoxo Johanna.

  5. Oh Kerry, if you lived here in Devon it would be suggested to you that you had upset the Pixies. If you do that they come into your house and mess up everything! Really putting a spanner in the works. I think I must have upset a whole wagon load of Pixies as I can never find anything ( it is a much kinder, if slightly eccentric excuse to blame the “little people” rather than my forgetfulness).
    Seriously though, I am so sorry for the bad time you are having. I hope you just walked away and took a deep breath, sometimes we try to power on with things even though we know we are beaten by circumstances ( or the intrusion of repair men). It just goes to show what a complex affair weaving is. Had you been quilting, you could probably have carried on without any trouble.
    I wish you and your home a speedy return to peace and harmony and for the warp and the weft to lie in their rightful positions.

    • Gallivanta said I could blame Mercury and you say I can blame pixies–MUCH better than looking at my own responsibility for any of it! Thanks for your supportive words–things are already looking up (knock on wood!) The mechanical contraptions have been fixed and even the weaving seems to have been tamed (for the moment anyway!)

  6. Okay, all you can do is sit down with a comforting beverage and a good book! But it can’t be anything craft related, or you will want to jump up and start something entirely new. It has to be something that draws you in for a mental vacation. In times like these, I rely on either Pride and Prejudice, or The Well of Lost Plots – very different books, but ones I can take refuge in.

    Also, at least these troubles waited until you were done with your lovely quilt!

    • Not knowing who wrote that would’ve made me crazy! I’m glad you mentioned the Tuesday Next book–I read a couple of those years ago, enjoyed them, and then got away from them–I need to go back and start from the beginning and get to the Well of Lost Plots. But, in the meantime, Pride and Prejudice might be just the soothing sort of read that would help!

  7. I do have days like that, well sometimes even weeks! And no idea what neurosurgeons do on those kind of days, I hope they won’t need to come anywhere near me 🙂
    I hope you will get to go to that market, cause I can not get enough of fruit and vegetable photo’s!

    • I hope I get to the market soon, too–I haven’t been to this particular one and it’s supposed to be wonderful. It’s set in Montreal’s Little Italy so I’m pretty excited to have lunch there, too!

  8. I hope neurosurgeons do what I do and take the day off! I think Gallivanta is right – the planets are ALWAYS to blame 🙂 If/When things go awry for me in my studio I make flowers – an easy relatively crisis free undertaking – and I have boxed and jars of the things to prove it. They later get called into service for embellishments on cards or paintings or other creations.

    I have always found that electrical things go pfatt in small groups. A few months ago I was blogging about fridges and vacuum cleaners for instance……. It seems to be a rule of the electrical appliance world.

    I trust all your small inconveniences will very quickly sort themselves out and then those colours will look fantastic and the patterns will be recallable and memorable………. and you will suddenly find your world is even better than it was 🙂

    • The thing that really got to me was when my little fabric yoyos, which are supposed to be my relatively crisis-free undertaking, went all wrong, too! It was time to walk away from the scissors and needle! But, already the drama has passed–I should finish the weaving today!

  9. Oh dear, it sounds like everything’s going wrong! I have those days also. Unpicking is the worst, I hate unpicking! But maybe when thing’s start to go right again you’ll have a new found appreciation for working machines 🙂 xx

    • On balance, I’m sure the machines do more to make our lives easier rather than harder! But we get so accustomed to everything working well, it’s quite a shock when they don’t.

  10. Yes I do have those days and question why I bother…but oddly I’ll get back to it and usually it’s fine. I figure if you didn’t have the bad/challenging days you wouldnt appreciate the good days…seriously do I really think torture is necessary? I think you said it right, just about the time you are feeling a little cocky and full of yourself you get beat down, but…BUT please notice you actually get better and conquer the challenge. Nothing that wonderful can be that easy, right?! All good things come with pain (as in pain in the ass, please stop).

    • You’re absolutely right that the bad days help us to appreciate the good–complacency is never a good way to live. Already the weaving has sorted itself out and is actually going better than ever (eek–did I just jinx myself?!)

  11. Although many things have gone wrong, your sense of humor is still working… I laughed through your “whining”, as you called it.. but I was laughing with you… not at you. 🙂

  12. days or weeks like this I blame the “little people” they think it is fun to be annoying – then I wash the kitchen floor, just in case the universe is trying to remind me that I really NEED to do some housework. then I go and have a chat with my weaving witch who sits on my loom, she just smiles patiently. As for weaving – write the pattern on an index card, tape it to your loom and stick a pin in the treadling sequence as you weave. I learned this as a new weaver with two small kids while running a family business at home. I don’t do it any more but I teach it to my students. It works as long as you train yourself to move the pin.

  13. I have often had that neurosurgeon thought, when I have had a migraine so bad I can’t see straight but still drag my sorry self off to my place of employment. I imagine neurosurgeons get their assistants to take charge on those challenging days. When you’re lying prepped for surgery on a gurney, it’s a bit late to ask the question though – “Have a good night’s sleep did you?”

    In my own craft work, I have learned that some days you just need to walk away.

  14. What a week, full of little mishaps. What would life be if everything went on the way we want? I bet we would be bored stiff. Life is full of ups and downs, and now I’m sure the ups are on the way so relax and wish you a happy fourth of July. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

