Woven Together

The weaving continues.

We pursue it with the zeal of converts.

The fact that we are learning together adds to the enjoyment.

We talk about ideas and plans.

We bring different perspectives to solving problems, and four hands to the task make some chores far easier.

We definitely have different approaches. He tends toward complicated patterns and lots of bright colors. He wants to make exuberant table runners. He is bold and fearless.

IMG_8777IMG_8048I tend toward wanting to learn about different fibers and classic designs—twills herringbones, stripes. I want to make tidy dishtowels and scarves. I am methodical and want things just so.IMG_7988IMG_8789We approach weaving as we have so many things over 25 years—on equal terms, balancing the load, each with our own strengths, respecting what the other does better.

Strong fabric depends on warp and weft. Woven together.

40 thoughts on “Woven Together

  1. What beautiful work and how exciting it must be for you both to discuss your design ideas and then create them. Will you perhaps be selling your handiwork on Etsy? And have you added a room on to the house yet…the loom room?

    • I don’t know about the Etsy thing . . . we both have the other shops that demand a certain amount of time. Who knows?! Our “loom room” is a corner of a big glassed porch on the house–it’s well-insulated but unheated so we’re not sure how it’ll be to work out there in the winter!

    • We talk about it–my husband had a shop on Etsy for stone cabochons he cuts and polishes so we both know the ropes. But we really are newbies at weaving–we have a lot to learn, I think . . .

  2. You and your husband’s weaving is lovely! What a great thing to do together. I have done some creative endeavors with John and he is always the daring one too. I’m just so impressed and thrilled to see what you are making. I know from my own weaving experience it’s no small undertaking to make something on a loom. I’m sure you inspire each other with endless ideas! Can’t wait to see more!

    • Thanks! We do have endless ideas–that’s one of the very cool things about weaving, the variations! I think he will progress more quickly than I will–I have so many other projects and interests and he’s very focused on weaving right now. But at least I’ve learned enough to help him and do some small things for myself.

  3. No end to your talents, the both of you!!! this is beautiful,I love it. Weaving is supposed to be the oldest textile technique ( after spinning I suppose?) I don’t about you, but hand crafting gives me always a feeling of connection with history too. That white and yellow fabric reminds of those nice curtains you once made. Well, I better run along, I have Saturday class and got side tract..as yuo see here;0)

    • What an amazing visual memory you must have, to remember those curtains! And, yes, I was definitely going for that look with this weaving project. The connection to history and old ways is undoubtedly part of what draws me to weaving (and quilting. And embroidery).

  4. Wonderful, wonderful! What a great partnership – I am always made happy when hearing of long time, respectful working teams 🙂 ‘He’ is weaving with my favourite colours [the blue-green combo at the top] which makes me even happier. I love your sentence ‘…… on equal terms, balancing the load, each with our own strengths, respecting what the other does better.’ A recipe for contentment I think! What a great way to start my Sunday 🙂

    • I knew, from seeing photos on your blog, that the blues and greens would speak to you! That runner was made for my mom–those are her decorating colors and she chose the yarns for the piece. And, yes, my husband and I are very fortunate to have built such a good partnership (not that we haven’t worked hard at it!)

    • Thanks, Joyce! It is an interesting way of working–we can be in the same room, working in parallel ways on our own separate weavings, and then stop to help one another on one project. So far, it’s working!

  5. Are these yours? They look awesome! I love how weaving can make such diverse creations. I watched my friend weave with beads yesterday, looked like a fun thing to make.

    • It would be hard to choose a favorite, since they are so different. I like that we will be able to do such variety–in theory, we can weave anything from shaggy rug for the floor to fine silk!

  6. Pingback: Buying New or Making Do? | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  7. Wow, did you make these? They are beautiful! It’s lovely that you’re doing this together, the finished product will be all the more special. I have to say I too tend towards lots of bright colours! xx

    • I have to admit I find myself torn now, between quilting time and weaving time. I love both and I’m sure I’ll keep doing both and it’ll be interesting to see if and how they influence each other!

  8. I am so impressed by the results of your weaving. The standards you have reached are so high. Beautiful cloth and a lovely project which you are able to share.
    Someone once gave me some handwoven cat nip filled toys for my cats. They were made in the States. The fabric was so strong it never came apart despite all the rough and tumble of life. Once the warp and weft of our lives are interwoven, it is a wonderful thing and it can clearly hold together.
    Happy weaving!

    • I have been very pleased at how quickly it is possible to weave decent-looking items, even as beginners! I’m used to having a real learning curve when I start something new, and many amateurish finished projects before I get one worth keeping!

  9. WOW!! What progress..what progression! I am probably more drawn to the herringbones and monochrome patterns..it always thrills me how something that can appear such a simple design can be so effective and rewarding..do you fight over the radio whilst you work..or is it music you work to?? xxx

    • Thanks, Kate! I hope I’ll have more to show you at some point. When my husband weaves alone, he listens to hardcore rock and roll, at a volume I find physically painful. If we are both in the room, we listen to light classical or folk–more my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

