A Week by the Numbers, and the Emotions

stormy lighthouseOur weeks are usually quiet and placid and fairly solitary, but not last week. No, not at all.

I could tell you all about it—after all, what is more “hands at home” than family? But it’s all so personal, so full of people you don’t know . . .

A week by the numbers:

  • 2 house guests, a wonderful sister and a delightful teenage niece
  • 1 college visit in another state, with 1000 questions to ask
  • 1 day trip to another country, with 600 sights to see
  • 1 birthday, of 75 years
  • 1 anniversary, of 3 years of marriage, for my mother and her husband
  • 1 death of a beloved pet
  • 10,000 dirty dishes in the sink
  • 1 family picnic, gathering 40 relatives, most of whom we haven’t seen in 40 years, amid many inches of rain, dozens of shared dishes of food, hundreds of fond memories, and lots of new Facebook friends

It all equaled 7 intense days of life.

A week by the emotions:

  • Anticipation
  • Stress
  • Pleasure
  • Nostalgia
  • Joy
  • Frustration
  • Grief, deferred
  • Excitement
  • Anxiety
  • Relief
  • Letdown
  • Love, lots of love

It all equaled 7 intense days of life.

51 thoughts on “A Week by the Numbers, and the Emotions

  1. Oh my Dear Kerry, what a roller coaster of emotions!! I was just on my way out and was side tract by your post..not that I mind;0)
    Most of it sound like good fun but I am sorry to hear about your beloved pet.
    Remembering what you told before about your friends and family, I am sure you had some help with those dishes. So now, sweety, go and rest on that great deck chair and enjoy the spectacular view and probably fall a sleep right away! xoxoxo Johanna

    • Thanks for your sweet concern, Johanna–it always makes me feel better to hear from you! I have had a week of unprecedented laziness and quiet so far and intend for it to continue.

  2. My deepest sympathy for your beloved pet I hope the grief abates soon, after 7 days of emotions both raw and fulfilling I wish you a very quite event less week ahead xx

  3. There you are living life to the max and experiencing everything it has to offer in the space of one week – WOW! I am sorry for your loss, and hope the coming week will be quiet and contemplative and still filled with love xoxo

    • Thanks, Pauline–this week has been quiet and contemplative, which, of course, allows time to think and deal with all the emotions I was putting on hold last week. I’m working through it all!

  4. Kerry, I am so sorry about the loss of your beloved pet. But hopefully some of those other activities have helped to lessen the sting of that loss somewhat. A pet shares your life day in and day out and I know how difficult that loss can be.

    • Thanks, Susan–I’m sure you’ve been through the loss of a pet and understand. All the activities of the week reminded me that life goes on but also meant I sort of avoided the reality of the loss until this week. He was a great cat.

  5. Such a loss is always a heartbreaker but, when in the midst of a whirlwind, the wound is felt even deeper. Take a moment, step back, breath deep and give thanks for all the blessings surrounding you and that will become a soothing blanket of healing and rejuvenation. Hugs…………………..

  6. I love the way you find so many fresh ways to combine content and format – whatever your subject matter of the day is, I always find it interesting, but what makes your blog stand out for me is how you change formats from day to day, to find a structure that complements the subject matter.
    Now I just hope this comment doesn’t get put in the spam folder for being too general and referring to your blog as a whole! 🙂

    • What a nice comment! I hadn’t even really thought about the things you’re describing but I’m pleased to think that it works out well! You’ve been experimenting with some similar creative approaches, too, right?

    • Counting dirty dishes is never a good idea, especially pans in which oatmeal has been cooked. This week has been almost entirely uneventful (and oatmeal-pan-free) and I feel better already!

    • No, the sunset is from our yard, earlier in the year. The picnic was completely flooded with rain! But we all huddled in the small house and got to know each other better!

  7. Pingback: Thinking Can Wait | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  8. What a hectic week, indeed – definitely takes a lot out of a person. I’m glad you’re now able to have a few moments of quiet and rest. I’m very sorry to hear about the passing of your cat, it’s so hard to lose our furry companions. Thinking of you.

    • Losing a cat would be so hard in any circumstances. It was made more difficult, of course, by having company and not wanting to ruin their vacation by having a complete meltdown. Thanks for your understanding!

  9. Oh my, this sounds like my just-ended busy-busy. So much family, so much love, so many dishes… And immediately preceding the family event was a long-anticipated school reunion with members of my 8th-grade class. In fact I had to cut that short to scurry off to the family. And I held in my arms after so many years one of my very best friends through high school. … And right now I’m too tired to fully appreciate it all, instead feeling sad and lonely and done in. Tomorrow will be brighter…

    • I was thinking that your week sounded as full and intense as mine had been. I’m a definite introvert–I can enjoy all the people and drama while I’m in the moment but then find myself completely drained and lifeless when it’s over. Then I need quiet time to find myself again . . .

Leave a Reply

