A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 2

IMG_4020Other elements of my life are infringing on my blog life this week. Instead of my usual very deep, incredibly insightful, humility-laden, and overly wordy posts, I am going to show you some glamour shots of the woven result of the long warp I’ve been thinking of as Rapunzel’s braid.

Day Two—The Classic, Brightened

I love the authentic look of unbleached, natural cotton and linen but look how using white for the weft (horizontal) threads brightens things up in this towel!

IMG_4022 IMG_4098Background:

The warp threads were 7.5 yards longs (a little less than 7 meters). They were mostly unbleached Cottolin, a mix of cotton and linen, with a few threads of dark blue to make vertical stripes.

The project started as a pattern sampler that creates a grid of four patterns across and thirteen patterns from top to bottom. By a combination of the way the loom is threaded and the ways the treadles are pushed, I could get many different patterns in one piece of fabric. For reasons I can’t explain, that makes me ever so happy.

For anyone REALLY interested, I got the pattern for this Rosepath Sampler from pages 16 and 17 in Marguerite Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.

Once I was done the sampler portion of the project, I had enough warp left to make six dishtowels. I love dishtowels! I used a different treadling pattern on each one and played around with some different colors.

I’ll show a towel each day this week. On the seventh day, we won’t rest—I’ll show you the sampler, which turned out well enough to make me begin to feel like a real weaver!

I have lots of evidence of how kind and supportive you are, so don’t feel the need to comment every day on every towel!

16 thoughts on “A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 2

  1. Really…I have to say it again, your towels are as soothing and beautiful as a well knitted sock. Weaving is your yoga!!! I find your photos of your wonderful weavings so pleasing. More of this please, xo Johanna

  2. That first paragraph made me smile!
    You might be able to tell that I’m doing a bit of frantic visiting of blogs today, and I haven’t even posted on my own in over a week!
    Your weaving is so lovely… the colors and the pattern are wonderful!

    • Thanks, Sheryl–so nice of you! But I’m really very much a beginner–isn’t it neat that, after only one year of weaving, it’s possible to turn out fabric that looks pretty darn good?!

Leave a Reply

