A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 3

IMG_4027Other elements of my life are infringing on my blog life this week. Instead of my usual very deep, incredibly insightful, humility-laden, and overly wordy posts, I am going to show you some glamour shots of the woven result of the long warp I’ve been thinking of as Rapunzel’s braid.

Day Three—Different, But No Less Classic

 

Ah, yes, red and white. What’s not to love? The vertical stripes of blue are a constant in all these towels, but this one has the white weft threads for brightness and a red band at both ends.

IMG_4029 IMG_4103

Background:

The warp threads were 7.5 yards longs (a little less than 7 meters). They were mostly unbleached Cottolin, a mix of cotton and linen, with a few threads of dark blue to make vertical stripes.

The project started as a pattern sampler that creates a grid of four patterns across and thirteen patterns from top to bottom. By a combination of the way the loom is threaded and the ways the treadles are pushed, I could get many different patterns in one piece of fabric. For reasons I can’t explain, that makes me ever so happy.

For anyone REALLY interested, I got the pattern for this Rosepath Sampler from pages 16 and 17 in Marguerite Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.

Once I was done the sampler portion of the project, I had enough warp left to make six dishtowels. I love dishtowels! I used a different treadling pattern on each one and played around with some different colors.

I’ll show a towel each day this week. On the seventh day, we won’t rest—I’ll show you the sampler, which turned out well enough to make me begin to feel like a real weaver!

I have lots of evidence of how kind and supportive you are, so don’t feel the need to comment every day on every towel!

15 thoughts on “A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 3

  1. I would have been wary of so many shots in the same shed (for that blocks of white effect), thinking that those wefts would slide around after washing. I am interested to know if you used a floating selvedge, or some other trick to keep those shots so perfectly lined up!

    • Yes, I used a floating selvedge. It’s funny–the very first item I ever wove was a twill scarf and my teacher taught me to use the floating selvedge. Now I tend to use it for everything I make–just force of habit, I guess.

  2. Regarding the workshop about “getting beyond blue and red,” it reminded me of what a local shop owner once told me — “Put some blue in it and it will sell. Blue always sells.” Think about all those elegant Scandinavian weaves in blue, white and red. I’m with you. There’s something to be said for classic elegance.

    • I helped a weaver friend at a craft show last year and I kept asking her, as we set items out, “where’s the blue?” She doesn’t care for blue and had only a couple items with it but they sold first! Classics become classics for a reason!

  3. I am not a red girl – but I love this towel! I think the subtle differences between white and ecru are heavenly and the red makes it all pop! The texture looks absolutely scrumptious!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • I’m not sure, Marieken. I kind of think they may end up in the shop eventually–one person can only use so many dishtowels! But I’ll wait until I’ve done more weaving and have more of a variety, I think.

Leave a Reply

