A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 4

IMG_4038Other elements of my life are infringing on my blog life this week. Instead of my usual very deep, incredibly insightful, humility-laden, and overly wordy posts, I am going to show you some glamour shots of the woven result of the long warp I’ve been thinking of as Rapunzel’s braid.

Day Four—Kind of Wild, For Me

 

We have a lot of thread and yarn we bought when we bought our secondhand looms so I went looking through the bin for inspiration. On a gloomy, wintry day, I picked sunny yellow and combined it with the navy blue. I think I’d like it better with white weft thread to make it brighter but I’d run out of white at this point!

IMG_4040 IMG_4107Background:

The warp threads were 7.5 yards longs (a little less than 7 meters). They were mostly unbleached Cottolin, a mix of cotton and linen, with a few threads of dark blue to make vertical stripes.

The project started as a pattern sampler that creates a grid of four patterns across and thirteen patterns from top to bottom. By a combination of the way the loom is threaded and the ways the treadles are pushed, I could get many different patterns in one piece of fabric. For reasons I can’t explain, that makes me ever so happy.

For anyone REALLY interested, I got the pattern for this Rosepath Sampler from pages 16 and 17 in Marguerite Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.

Once I was done the sampler portion of the project, I had enough warp left to make six dishtowels. I love dishtowels! I used a different treadling pattern on each one and played around with some different colors.

I’ll show a towel each day this week. On the seventh day, we won’t rest—I’ll show you the sampler, which turned out well enough to make me begin to feel like a real weaver!

I have lots of evidence of how kind and supportive you are, so don’t feel the need to comment every day on every towel!

15 thoughts on “A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 4

  1. lucky you – to get a stash along with your new-to-you loom. My students are always looking for yarns to add to their stash, it gives your more choice without spending a fortune

  2. Darn it all Kerry – You know I’m short on time this week and I thought you posting daily would be fine, I would just leave a ‘like’ to say I’ve been when the colour combinations don’t sing to me. But everyday I’m stopping in and looking and drooling and imagining that texture running past my itchy fingers……. heaven help me if you make anything in an aqua thread!! Love the yellow – I hope you mixed it in with some blue somewhere …. xoxo

    • You are the sweetest person, Pauline! Your comments always make me feel great. And I just finished a scarf in a variegated blue–running toward aqua and turquoise. Someday I’ll post about it!

  3. Seeing these clothes is just so satisfying. Not only are they beautifully made but they are the kind of cloths you want to feel and use and which will grow more beautiful with age.

    • I think they will age well–everything I read about this cotton and linen fiber is that it softens and gets better and better! Thanks for your kind support, Karen!

Leave a Reply

