A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 6

IMG_4058Other elements of my life are infringing on my blog life this week. Instead of my usual very deep, incredibly insightful, humility-laden, and overly wordy posts, I am going to show you some glamour shots of the woven result of the long warp I’ve been thinking of as Rapunzel’s braid.

Day Six—Back to Basics

For the last towel, I wanted to see what would happen if I treadled differently than any of the patterns in the book I was using. I did the most basic pattern I could think of and ended up with a herringbone effect! So, in addition to the 52 patterns in the sampler (which you’ll see tomorrow!), I learned that other nice patterns can be created with this basic set-up of the loom.

I went back to colors that are the real me, and combined navy and dark green. Pretty in an understated way but even I think they could use something to perk them up!

IMG_4056IMG_4119 IMG_4069

Background:

The warp threads were 7.5 yards longs (a little less than 7 meters). They were mostly unbleached Cottolin, a mix of cotton and linen, with a few threads of dark blue to make vertical stripes.

The project started as a pattern sampler that creates a grid of four patterns across and thirteen patterns from top to bottom. By a combination of the way the loom is threaded and the ways the treadles are pushed, I could get many different patterns in one piece of fabric. For reasons I can’t explain, that makes me ever so happy.

For anyone REALLY interested, I got the pattern for this Rosepath Sampler from pages 16 and 17 in Marguerite Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.

Once I was done the sampler portion of the project, I had enough warp left to make six dishtowels. I love dishtowels! I used a different treadling pattern on each one and played around with some different colors.

I’ll show a towel each day this week. On the seventh day, we won’t rest—I’ll show you the sampler, which turned out well enough to make me begin to feel like a real weaver!

I have lots of evidence of how kind and supportive you are, so don’t feel the need to comment every day on every towel!

12 thoughts on “A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 6

  1. Thanks for leaping in and sharing your journey. I have been wanting to warp my loom but didn’t quite know where I wanted to start and you have inspired me to look up the sampler you did and play. Have a great day.

    • Oh, that’s great! I learned so much from doing this! When you start, you’ll see that some rows in the pattern are very similar–you can skip some and do the ones that you want to. That’s what I did. And also, don’t panic if some of the patterns don’t look like they do in the Davison photos. I started to panic and then read that Davison was using a different kind of loom–sinking shed, I think, whatever that means! 😉 As a result, the pattern that is in her photos appears on the BACK of the weaving you’ll do, if you’re using a rising shed loom. When you’re done, you can decide which side you like best!

    • That’s one of the things that I liked best about the project–I could start with the neutral thread and still end up with so many colorful variations!

    • That’s so true–I think the towels have an authentic look and feel to them. I think the cotton and linen combination in the thread and the fact that the background is unbleached give it that look.

Leave a Reply

