A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 7

Other elements of my life are infringing on my blog life this week. Instead of my usual very deep, incredibly insightful, humility-laden, and overly wordy posts, I am going to show you some glamour shots of the woven result of the long warp I’ve been thinking of as Rapunzel’s braid.

Day Seven—The Rosepath Pattern Sampler

IMG_4071This was the starting point for the whole project but it’s the piece that makes me happiest so I saved it for last.

The design is composed of a grid of 4 blocks by 13 blocks, creating 4-inch squares and representing 52 different patterns made possible by the way the loom is set-up at the beginning. Some are so similar it’s hard to see that they aren’t exactly the same. Some are very different. I like some; others don’t appeal.

But I have them, all in one place, to refer back to as I continue to weave! I developed skills, got to try some things that were new to me, worked in a finer thread, and with a much longer warp than I had.

I hemstitched both ends, an effect I love. The finished sampler is about 49 inches by about 15 inches, plus the fringe at two ends.

So, there you have it! Thanks for sticking around for this week’s worth of show and tell. Having someone to share this with makes weaving a lot more fun!

IMG_4120

Background:

The warp threads were 7.5 yards longs (a little less than 7 meters). They were mostly unbleached Cottolin, a mix of cotton and linen, with a few threads of dark blue to make vertical stripes.

The project started as a pattern sampler that creates a grid of four patterns across and thirteen patterns from top to bottom. By a combination of the way the loom is threaded and the ways the treadles are pushed, I could get many different patterns in one piece of fabric. For reasons I can’t explain, that makes me ever so happy.

For anyone REALLY interested, I got the pattern for this Rosepath Sampler from pages 16 and 17 in Marguerite Davison’s A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.

Once I was done the sampler portion of the project, I had enough warp left to make six dishtowels. I love dishtowels! I used a different treadling pattern on each one and played around with some different colors.

I’ll show a towel each day this week. On the seventh day, we won’t rest—I’ll show you the sampler, which turned out well enough to make me begin to feel like a real weaver!

I have lots of evidence of how kind and supportive you are, so don’t feel the need to comment every day on every towel!

36 thoughts on “A Week’s Worth of Handwovens from One Wonderful Warp: 7

    • I don’t really know how long it took–that’s an interesting question. Much of the time spent is spent on “dressing” the loom–putting on all those vertical warp threads and getting the threading right. The weaving itself goes relatively quickly–I think I was doing about 12 inches at a sitting (maybe 2 hours?)

    • Thanks! I know everybody says this but, really, it looks better in person! I had fits trying to get good photos because it’s so long and narrow. The sampler will provide me with all kinds of info for future weaving projects.

  1. What an accomplishment! They look wonderful hanging next to each other like that. Does hubby still get time on the loom?

    • Oh, Susan–we have so many looms! Although two of the bigger ones are on a glassed-in porch that’s too cold right now, my husband has been taking his turn on the loom I used for the towels. We also have a smaller tabletop loom that’s perfect for scarves so we switch off, depending what we want to make. We’re quite a pair. 😉

    • I have to admit I like that one best, too! It’s big and rich, and I like the hemstitching I did on the ends, too. Thanks for following along though the whole series!

    • Thanks–you’re so sweet! I need to figure out a way to display it since it has no practical purpose, except reminding me of weave patterns I liked.

  2. This is my favorite one too. It looks pretty amazing on my computer screen, I imagine it is even better in person.

    • I do think it looks better in person but I’m biased! I couldn’t get a decent photo that showed the whole thing–it’s so long and narrow. But the individual blocks are varied and rich–I’m glad I made it!

  3. Scrum-diddly-umtious!! Just so much eye candy I am salivating [again!] Love, love, love that diamond pattern especially – but the whole run is a visual feast! You can’t help but have learned so much from this exercise – what a wonderfully fascinating activity. You have quite convinced me weaving is ‘da bomb’!

    • You can tell I think weaving is “da bomb,” too–I’m pretty smitten. I did learn so much from this exercise–it was fascinating and never got boring because I was changing the pattern every 4 inches. Thanks for being so loyal and making time to read along, even though I know you were in a tizzy about the trip!

    • Isn’t it interesting how using different colors in the weft changes the entire look of each piece? Using the red all the way, though, as I did with the sampler, made it look so much more rich.

  4. I just love this Rosepath sampler the colours, the weave it’s so beautiful! I’m not much of a sewer but I do enjoy looking at lovely fabrics and your work is wonderful! Have a lovely rest of the weekend 😃

    • Thank you! I’m not much for sewing either (my sewing machine gives me hives!) but with weaving I can make things that are done when they come off the loom. I learned a great deal from this sampler exercise and am pretty pleased with the outcome!

  5. Pingback: In the Kitchen | Musing Off the Mat

  6. I wonder if I am the only one with this problem: WP ufollows blogs ‘for me’ from time to time. Now it has happened to yours!!! I am so sorry, I have to pay attention to that all the time. I am going to read up immediately!! Love all these weaveings, you incredible artist!!! xo Johanna

Leave a Reply

