American Dishtowel Club Show: Non-Working/Non-Sporting Group

Welcome to the third installment of American Dishtowel Club (ADC) show! With your input we’ve sought to apply conformation standards to three groups of towels, ultimately to arrive at the Best of Show in the competitive world of dishtowels. (If you have not yet reviewed and voted on the Working Group Towels and the Sporting Group Towels, you are encouraged to do so soon—voting is very tight!)

Today we are joined by the towels of the Non-Working, Non-Sporting group. Upon reviewing these groups, we hope you will vote, in the comments, for your favorite.

Guidelines: These towels are bred primarily to reflect on their owners’ affluence and exquisite taste. These towels demonstrate a phenomenal gift of beauty and reflect common ancestral traits of high, pure breeding and quality. It should be noted that these towels require special grooming and can be haughty and difficult to care for. Their sheer physical beauty captivates many in spite of the fact that these towels rarely perform well in a working or sporting environment.

Monogrammed Damask Towels

Steadfastly devoted to loved ones, but standoffish and lordly toward strangers

Monogrammed Damask Towels are often considered one-owner towels; they are loyal and bonded to their owners. Of substantial size and impressive good looks, these towels most often bear a pure-white coat and are marked by one or more hand-wrought embroidered initials. Towels of this class can be viewed by outsiders as cold and remote but they are affectionate at home and beloved by their families.

Dainty Fingertip Towels

Graceful, charming, and fussy

Dainty Fingertip Towels are the teacup poodles of the towel world and, in fact, discussions are underway regarding the creation of a new “toy” towel category in years to come. These towels are bred for petite size and sweet prettiness. They can be vulnerable to injuries from hard exercise and are perhaps best suited to households without children. Eager to please, they are boon companions of the elderly and love to be pampered.

Fringed Display Towels

Serious-minded, dignified, bright, and aloof

If ever a towel was designed for the show ring, the Fringed Display Towel fits the bill. Physically commanding and of large build, these towels are arresting in appearance. They are prized for their genetic make-up—only the highest quality linen is found in these towels. The towels are expensive to own and maintain, and owners are proud to display these towels for others to envy and admire. The towels are haughty and can appear untouchable; however, anyone who appreciates sheer physical perfection and breeding will be entranced.

Now that you have familiarized yourself with the towels in the Non-Working/Non-Sporting Group, we invite you to vote for your favorite; as you vote, please keep in mind that you are voting not for a specific towel but the category as a whole.

We hope you’ll join us next week for the final installment in the American Dishtowel Club Conformation Show. At that meeting, the Best of Breed for each of the three classes will be revealed and you will have the opportunity to vote for Best of Show.

45 thoughts on “American Dishtowel Club Show: Non-Working/Non-Sporting Group

  1. I vote for the Working Group. I don’t want a towel that is difficult to maintain or to pretty to touch. I need a towel that is absorbant, easy to wash and relatvely attractive. Give me a nice striped kitchen towel and I’m happy.

  2. These towles feel like Pekinese: an aquired taste, beautiful, well bred and exquisite but they miss the fun of real dogs…going together for a long hike, rolling through the mud and looking up smiling with wagging tail and lolling tongue and than coming home, a good clean up, comfy on the couch and enjoying a good snore.
    These are well made, really impressive but just too dainty for my taste….
    Great post, great photos! xo Johanna

  3. Oh, I think without a doubt the monogrammed damask towels. These are redolent of British upper class mores, and I think the ony things an English voter should contemplate supporting.

    • Yes, very upper class! I had to laugh when I got the one with the “Mc” monogram! I had never seen that before–someone insisting we know they’re Scots!

  4. I love the classic white-on-white damask, but the fringed display towels get my vote in this category. They combine the best of both — showy damask and lovely bands of color!

  5. Dainty fingertip towels get my vote for sheer uselessness. When hung in bathrooms they confuse guests as to whether they’re strictly for show or for use. Guests may often resort to drying their hands on their own clothes.

  6. The fringe display towels are my vote with the monogrammed as runner ups. Sadly ,in this household , they would have to wear the ” do not touch” sign . Too many little boys run though my house.;)

  7. I’m voting for the fringed towels. The fringe simply hollers ‘beautiful but useless’ I should hang one ostentatiously over a rail somewhere [especially erected for it] and leave it there forever. Now I have to back track to the posts I have missed and see what else turns up in this wonderful selection of beautiful AND useful varieties!

  8. This is a very difficult choice this time. I am voting for the Dainty Fingertip Towels because they are so dainty and cute 🙂

  9. I vote for the monogrammed damask towels in this Non-Working, Non-Sporting category, with the Fringed as runner up. I consider these beautiful monogrammed towels as being mostly for show, the epitome of members of this category. Heaven only knows how we will ever choose among all three categories for Best In Show. This has been a very creative and enjoyable lesson in the inherit characteristics of the various breeds of towels. I thank you.

  10. The monogrammed damask ones for sure! I have a little collection of these from various great grandmas and aunties and actually they have held up well. And the feel of damask is lovely as it ages…

    • Until I started weaving, I thought all that drama was created by handwork, drawing threads, etc. Now I can see I was wrong and am interested intruding some of these techniques . . . someday. Thanks for voting, BTW–you broke two ties!

      • Me too! I mean, it can be done by manipulating thread by thread with pick-up techniques, but that’s way too slow for my tastes – one day I’ll have a jaquard loom, one day! We can dream, right? 🙂

      • There’s a huge, old Jacquard loom at a museum near us in Vermont and we saw it in action last year–I cannot believe how cool those are and the intricacies they’re capable of! I didn’t know they made them for smaller scale weavers but I take it they do?

      • That’s awesome! I would love to see one of the old looms in action!
        So far I’ve found two companies that make jacquard looms for handweavers, AVL and Digital Weaving in Norway. Pricy for sure, plus I’m thinking I’d want an actual house for it instead of my current condo – somehow I don’t think that the air compressor would be popular in a condo 🙂 one day!

  11. Pingback: Inaugural Show of the American Dishtowel Club: We Announce the Winner! | Love Those "Hands at Home"

Leave a Reply

