What I’m Weaving This Wednesday

IMG_5736The shuttles continue to fly!

Our excellent niece will be attending the University of Vermont in the fall, where the school colors are green and gold. She will be the only student wearing this particular scarf!

IMG_5431This weaving pattern is called herringbone plaid and I love how I could make transitions from stripes to the plaid section.IMG_2712

The fiber is Tencel, and the scarf has a nice sheen and drape, and twisted fringe.IMG_5754On the loom right now are a series of dishtowels (you know how I love dishtowels)! Lake Champlain is right outside that window!

IMG_5734

The weaving pattern for the towels is exactly the same as for the scarf—the herringbone plaid—but the fiber is a mix of cotton and linen. Isn’t it interesting how different the pattern looks, done in such different fibers and colors?IMG_6343

So far, I’ve finished four towels and they’re all different. I like this one best, at least for now.IMG_6341

I hope you’ll come back so I can show you how these turn out, and what comes next!

53 thoughts on “What I’m Weaving This Wednesday

    • Thanks, Aggie! I really can’t say how long it takes to weave a towel. It’s complicated because there’s all the “pre-weaving” that needs to be factored in–winding warp, dressing the loom, etc. I normally do that, and it’s time consuming, but then weave 4-5 towels from one long warp. The actual weaving of one towel is also variable–how complicated the pattern is, how many times one changes warp colors, etc.

  1. My god, you do beautiful work! Every time I read your post, I remember my grand mother sitting at her loom for hours. It was like watching someone play the piano. I asked my husband to build me a loom. Small one to make towels and such. I know it will never be as precise as yours, but to see if I like it… Invest later maybe. Although I have no clue where I would put it. LOL!

    • Thanks, Yanic! You might want to consider a rigid heddle loom. I haven’t used one but they seem to be the “gateway drug” for lots of weavers–they’re small and portable, not as versatile as a four harness loom but you can do a lot on one. I know the Schacht Cricket is popular and I looked on eBay just now and there are quite a few available.

      • Thank you! I may have to look into that for Xmas… We are headed down to the states so getting one would be cheaper than here and I would save a lot on shipping. 🙂

  2. I’m totally hooked, of course I’ll come back to see how the towel weaves up! I can’t just read half a story, especially when it’s getting so good.

    Kerry your weaving is just lovely. The weave is so even and precise. I agree, the different fibers are so interesting especially with the same pattern. I love how pretty your colors are all together!

    Your niece is going to look brilliant in her new scarf!

    • Thanks, Cathe! I’m pushing myself to work with more and different colors. Left to my own devices, I’d be weaving in naturals and dark blue! The green and gold were chosen for me, as UVM’s college colors, but I like the way that turned out.

  3. Congratulations on such nice straight edges, always my downfall. This past Monday I was in a studio filled with 20 looms, including one from Iceland. I suspect you’d have been a puddle of drool on the floor.

  4. An excellent scarf for an excellent nice. How fortunate that lovely girl is with her auntie! I seriously covet that scarf…And that gorgeous fabric cannot possibly be used for tea towels??? Is the scarf of wool and the tea towels cotton? And how do you decide to use what yarn for which fabric? And do you design your own patterns? xo Johanna

    • The scarf is Tencel–it’s made from wood cellulose, I think, and is very luscious and slinky. The towels are a mix of cotton and linen–it’s supposed to be super absorbent so it makes sense for towels. We have books with weave patterns, or drafts, that get us started in designing but we choose colors, etc. The possibilities are endless!

      • I did not realize that Tencel is a kind of yarn! I looked online too. this is all very interesting! Thank you for explaining and have a great weekend! Johanna

  5. I love the herringbone plaid scarf. That is such a gorgeous pattern. I think it is very interesting the way a different fiber can totally change the look of the finished product. I have learned that from knitting and crochet.

    • I think many of the lesson of using fibers would be the same from weaving to knitting to crocheting–lots of overlap! The herringbone plaid is a pattern I’m sure I’ll come back to–it’s subtle and looks very intricate but isn’t that hard to do.

  6. Your niece will be the envy of the campus wearing that gorgeous scarf. I can see the sheen in your photos…lovely!

    • I hope she wears it at all! You never know with that age group. And I think maybe I should’ve used wool–she is going to be entirely unprepared for winter in Burlington, VT!

  7. Scarf is wonderful, good job! My question is how does fabric of linen and cotton finish? Difference in shrinkage’s? I have been told by Glamakra and others that I should NOT use cotton and cottolin together. Interesting.

  8. What a beautiful scarf — and thank you for answering my question about the fiber before asked! I looked it up to confirm but was a little pleased with myself for remembering that Tencel is natural fiber.

    Lovely work, Kerry. I’m glad you’re enjoying showing us. 🙂

    • I’m relieved you, and others, are enjoying seeing what I weave! I love showing the photos but don’t want to overdo it! And I liked the Tencel very much–it didn’t tangle too badly and that’s always a plus!

    • I love it when you say nice things about my weaving! 😉 I’m bored out of my wits with the towels at this point–just need to sit down and finish the last one . . . .

  9. Is the dishtowel fiber cottolin or some mix of cotton and linen fibers? Cottolin is one of my favorite fibers! Love the feel of linen and cotton and it’s so much easier to use than linen. Dishtowels…they seem to be the “socks” of the handwoven world right now! I’m not sure I could use them.

    • In these towels the white is cottolin and the colored threads are cotton. I’ve done others where the warp is cotton and the weft is cottolin. I haven’t woven with linen yet because it intimidates me! I do love cottolin and I am going to force myself to actually use some of these towels!

      • Getting the tension even using linen was always a Huge issue for me. And it’s not forgiving at all. That said, it makes a lovely end product. But cottolin is great and comes in so many luscious colors. Enjoy those towels!

  10. Kerry, you really do nice work! The herringbone is very similar to my most recent towel warp. If a long warp gets tedious before the end, a solution would be to get a second loom so you can alternate projects. Just an idea 🙂

    • Thank you, Jean–that’s a huge compliment coming from an experienced weaver! My husband weaves, too, and we actually have 4 looms in the house. I just haven’t ventured beyond my little Norwood!

Leave a Reply

