My Weaving Ways (mid-July 2015)

How many posts about weaving are too many?

I’m still in the honeymoon stage of my weaving career so I’m spending an inordinate amount of time thinking about weaving, reading about weaving, planning weaving, and weaving.

You’ve been patient and supportive (so far!), so here are some quick photos of my weaving from the last month or so!

I had this fuzzy, tweedy yarn I loved:IMG_6762

And wove itย into a scarf with alternating panels of fuzzy and smooth–I didn’t want the fuzzy (and itchy) at the back of the neck.

IMG_6881 IMG_6884

On the loom right now is this scarf in black rayon and red silk/wool. The pattern is called Wall of Troy! Sometimes I pick patterns just because I like the name . . .

IMG_2782

45 thoughts on “My Weaving Ways (mid-July 2015)

      • Wow, thanks for that perceptive observation. You’re pretty amazing, Kerry. It’s not only my simple living goals. Though I am not gifted at painting or drawing or interior decorating, I enjoy pattern design such as is involved in weaving. There’re a mother and daughter locally who weave and spin…

      • “Pattern design”–that’s a great way to put it and much more the way I approach things, too. I guess that’s why quilt making is another of my favorites. Maybe that mother/daughter combo would take you on as a student . . . ?

  1. If your fiber is plant based try fabric softener to make it less scratchy. If your fiber is protein/animal based try hair conditioner to lessen some of the scratchiness

    • Thanks for the advice! Part of my problem is that the variegated yarn came as part of a bulk purchase, along with one of the looms, so I’m not sure what it is. I think acrylic is part of it . . .

  2. What beautiful work! Still think you should list some of your items on your Etsy shop…I check every now and then to see if you have listed some of your handiwork but do far nothing.

    • I’m pretty sure things will start to show up on Etsy eventually. I’m doing a holiday boutique downstate in November, where I’ve been selling chococlates, and am going to take some of the handwovens there, as a test run. It’s not that I’m not interested in selling (they’re starting to pile up!) but I’m a little nervous . . .

  3. I do hope you stay in that honeymoon stage forever!!! Who ever gets tired of looking at towels …..and the black and red scarf is so rich in color!!!

    • I know I never get tired of towels! The black and red scarf is pretty–it’s been a little boring to weave. But I do like seeing the pattern emerge!

  4. When your output is as prolific and beautiful as this who could possibly mind? I love your enthusiasm for your craft and all the stories and research you share too. I tried weaving many years ago – it never really took to me and now I do other things. It’d be a dreadfully boring world if we were all into the same artistic expressions ๐Ÿ™‚ PS The towels are simply luscious!!

    • I’m still in that stage where all I want to do is weave–I kind of resent all the other things in my life! I do agree that different crafts appeal to different people, depending on what they like and what motivates them. Yes, it would be a boring old world if we all did exactly the same things!

      • Oh yes, the Honeymoon stage …… I remember being a tad resentful when friends and family came calling as it took me away from canvas and paint and my deep immersion in the process. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not altogether sure it has completely passed, no matter what the activity ……..:-)

  5. Not too many posts at all from my opinion! Your work is so beautiful, Kerry! I need to get over to your shop and make a purchase (or two).

  6. GREAT weaving…….keep it up. As a weaver I will good at Everything posted, I have no shame ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good idea with the scarf.

  7. I love seeing all the different yarns and patterns you choose. I was the same way when I got my first laser being all consumed with new things to try! I still have more ideas than time ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I view all those photos of your work as justifiable payback for all the photos of quilts you’ve had to put up with. I like the red scarf especially. Any idea where the pattern name camefrom?

    • I guess it’s good we like to see what other people are making–and I do! So much inspiration here in blogland. I have no idea where the name came from–but it’s sort of fun to come up with theories. Helen, weaving after Paris has abducted her to Troy . . . ?

  9. I’ve always loved the idea of weaving and remember playing around with paper-weaving as a child. I’ve always liked the results too. You’re creations are amazing and what a practical hobby too, weaving beautiful, practical art into scarves, towels, throws and the like. Nice!

    • Thanks! I get pretty puffed up when I finish something, even though I know I’m still just getting started with weaving. One of the nicest things about the craft, in my book, is that even relative newbies can make really credible items!

      • So says the woman who has both talent and perseverance. Did I tell you I’m still knitting a very, very long “thing” because I never learned how to make the turn in knitting? Hah!

Leave a Reply

