A Time To Every Purpose, in the New Year

 

watch handsFor everything there is a season, so it’s said.

This season we are in, these winter holidays, is the time for indulgence and extravagance and living large, for being social and busy, and for lighting the darkness of the longest nights with family and friends and laughter. Enjoy!

But, in the new year, the season and its purposes change. And I look forward to this season, too, very much.

A time for quiet.

A time for introverts to recharge their social batteries and a time for even extroverts to turn to introspection.

A time for more fruits and vegetables, less sugar and, yes, less chocolate. A time for moderation.

A time for budgeting and cutting back and assessing. A time for making do and feeling virtuous about it.

A time for resolutions and the best of good intentions.

A time for building homely nests of blankets, and crawling in.

A time for creative play, choose your medium. I’ll choose sewing and stitching and weaving and thread and yarn, and punctuate it all with hot chocolate and naps.

A time when everything seems possible, when we can make big plans but not feel the pressure! There’s time to do it all—we have a whole year!

A time where the year to come stretches out, unsullied, like a new fall of snow, waiting for us to walk in it and slog around and fling ourselves down for snow angels. A time to make our mark.

And, as always, in the words of Pete Seeger, one can hope this new, precious year is “a time for peace, I swear it’s not too late . . .”

38 thoughts on “A Time To Every Purpose, in the New Year

  1. You are such a lovely writer Kerry. You should always blog. This was a lovely post. I love January as well and try to keep it open. I try (;-D) to finish some old projects but really want to start new ones! (Weaving this year!) And snuggling in handmade things…
    On a lighter note – Thank You for making it for me !!!! The toffee is divine. It will save me from making a pound of brown sugar fudge, which I adore, but don’t need.
    Merry Christmas, my friend!

    • Thank you, Deb–that’s very sweet of you to say. Sometimes, these days, I struggle with the blog posts–almost feel like I’ve said all I set out to say. But then someone like you comes around and makes me feel good about it again! And I am SO pleased that you like the toffee! It has been very popular this year–you’re not the only one who wanted me to make it for them!

  2. I too relish the slight puritanism of January. It feels quite cleansing, even though we are not ones to go overboard on over-indulging. I hope you and all your readers enjoy Christmas in their own way … and the new year too.

    • You know, I think that’s the key–to enjoy Christmas on our own terms. We don’t the traditional, big family hoopla at all . . . and that’s what’s right for us. I hope you have exactly the holiday that’s right for you and yours, Margaret!

  3. Your words are balm in the midst of this season, Kerry! I look forward to watching a quiet snowfall while dipping hot chocolate. Alas, it is 64 degrees here and snow is not in the forecast. Just as well, I suppose, for all the holiday travelers. May you and yours have a blessed holiday!

    • Thanks, Jean–I’m looking for serenity right now! We have temps in the 60s, too, (in upstate New York–what?!) but they say it should get more seasonable next week–so maybe our hot chocolate and fireplace will be needed soon. I hope your Christmas fulfills all your wishes and dreams!

  4. Lovely and wonderful sentiments Kerry and so beautifully worded. It is exactly how I feel about winter..I will re-read this post again and agin. Thnak yuo my dear friend, and wishing you wonderful Happy Holidays xo Johanna

    • I think it’s nice that, for some of us anyway, the new year coincides with winter–the quiet of winter is conducive to the introspection I always feel at New Years. Thank you for all your friendship, Johanna!

    • You know, I think you’re so right about that. I need to remind myself that, as much as I like living inside my head and house, I need to interact with the world! Have a lovely holiday season, whatever it holds for you!

    • What a nice comment–thank you, Pam! I know that seeing January as a fresh start is pretty much just a state of mind but, hey, it gets me through a cold, dark month and that counts for something, right?!

  5. Living large and, in my case, being large from too much largesse in the food department. But I agree; that after Christmas-time is gentle and lovely,and the year ahead seems full of possibilities.

  6. It tis the season to catch up with others as well as ourselves … thus a contradiction because the later in the whirlwind is difficult – thus your reminders are profound for all. All the best of holiday wishes to you, yours, and your readers with hopes of good days ahead for your PSU.

  7. What a beautiful, hopeful post, Kerry. I’ve just been writing my list of gratitude and intentions for the coming year. You’ve covered a lot of it, above.

    And yes, Peace.

    Please, please, please, Peace.

      • Agreed! We are all connected in this world, and all more alike than we give ourselves credit. I can’t help but think that if we worked harder to find common ground, which is really what diplomacy is all about, we could find it. I remain optimistic.

  8. A time when everything seems possible …
    yes, it does.
    Now! To follow through 🙂
    I look forward to following your talent and creativity through the coming year.
    Happiness, health, and peace to you, Kerry!

  9. Pingback: January Begins… | a daily dose of fiber

Leave a Reply

