Something for Everyone: A Quilt Show Tonight

Now, I know what some of you are thinking, “Oh, jeez—a quilt show. She’s going to show us pictures of quilts. I don’t quilt. I don’t sew. I don’t care about quilts.”

But I say, with apologies to Stephen Sondheim and the cast of “A Funny Thing Happened at the Way to the Forum,” that no matter who you are, there’s something for everyone at a quilt show, or at least that was the case last weekend at the Vermont Quilt Festival. Come, and hum, along and see if you agree.

Something familiar:

IMG_3153

Something peculiar:

IMG_3117

Something for everyone,
A quilt show tonight!

Something appealing,
Hung from the ceiling

IMG_3125

Something for everyone:
A quilt show tonight!

Something with houses, something with towns;

Bring on the fabric, notions, and gowns!

IMG_3170

Vendors for shopping,
Something eye-popping,

IMG_3091

Something old-fashioned,

IMG_3082

Something with flash and

IMG_3088

Something for everyone:
A quilt show tonight!

Something most modern,

IMG_3070

Something POSTmodern,

IMG_3111

Something with color,
Bright or much duller,

IMG_3166

IMG_3123

Something most Op-ish,

IMG_3129

Something more Pop-ish,

IMG_3104

Something for everyone:
A quilt show tonight!

Impressive!

IMG_3054

Obsessive!

IMG_3055

Specific!

IMG_3097

Terrific!

IMG_3095

Something exotic,

IMG_3098

Something chaotic,

IMG_3144

Something Egyptian,

IMG_3062

One with inscriptions,

IMG_3067

Something so striking,

IMG_3124

Much to my liking!

Something so simple and so right!

IMG_3074

Real world tomorrow,
Quilt show tonight!


If those of you who love quilts have any questions, let me know!

67 thoughts on “Something for Everyone: A Quilt Show Tonight

  1. How beautiful and the different ideas are just fascinating. I am usually more drawn to the traditional style quilts, but the ones you called “Modern” and “Op-ish” are really calling to me.

    • I gravitate toward the antique and traditional, too, but kept being grabbed by some of the nontraditional at this show. The variety of styles and techniques was notable!

  2. Oh I’m humming…. Can hardly stop to sip my coffee which I grabbed when I saw the ” quilt show ” title. I really was going to put more wash in the washer … Lovely quilts ,lovely post..so much talent. That red and white star quilt.. What a beauty and the kitty catching the fish. Oh dear I must look at it all again. 😄

  3. I agree that there is always something for everyone! While I’m not a sewer or a quilter, I always appreciate the craftsmanship, love and creativity that go into each of these pieces. Each so unique and different…thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Love the quilts! Traditional patterns can be mesmerizing with the way the blocks and colors interplay. And the surface embroidery and applique are so artistic. All beautiful; thanks for sharing! (Did you run into Zero Mostel at the show?)

  5. You get the gold star for quilt show description.Thanks for showing work that was probably out of your comfort zone. I’ve heard of wrapping yourself in a quilt, but I don’t know if it makes good couture, to say nothing of being flattering to one’s hips,.

    • I saw a lot of quilts I wouldn’t feel a desire to make but I still loved them–the variety blew me away and the command of techniques. They had a collection of Marston quilts displayed together, showing her development, i guess, and I loved those especially.

  6. I will never be a great quilter but love and appreciate the art and creativity of those fine needle workers. The diversity is phenomenal! Your poem was wonderful to show that there was something for everyone. Enjoyed this.

    • You’re right–it was the diversity that was so special about this show. Lots of shows are impressive but the quilts are all of a type. That was so not true of this show!

  7. I haven’t been to VQF in a Very Long time! I can tell it’s gotten bigger and better, though it was a wonder to me so long ago, when I wasn’t even a quilter. I was going to meet a friend there, but it didn’t work out. Maybe next year. Looks like it was good!

    • It was very good this year! I hadn’t been since it had moved from Norwich to Essex (Essex is a lot closer to me) and I was so impressed. TONS of vendors, too! Well worth the effort to make the trip, I think you’d find!

  8. That song is deep deep in my memory banks! When I was a very little girl, not much more than a toddler, my mom made costumes for the community theatre production of Knickerbocker Holiday. Yep, really. And I also remember Forum, Once Upon a Mattress, and others from later years. The songs, the swirling skirts, the colors, the lights, the sweat-drenched performers running up the ramps for a costume change. Mom said any costume change that took more than a few seconds was too long. Wow, took me back. Thanks as always, Kerry.

    • What a great way to become connected with musical theater! My older sister was in a production of the Nutcracker when I was very young, and I have similar memories of lights and colors and costumes and music lodged deeply in my memory banks…

  9. I have been away in the gardening wilderness, but I am back for a short time as it is raining here.
    And oh, oh oh! What a fabulous mix of quilts. You are right, there really was something for everyone. I ran through them seeing some which I did not like, but so many I did! I love, love LOVE the quilt on the right hand side of those which you selected as your favourites. Is that a crazy quilt? If so, then I am happy to be in the crazy camp. I have wanted to make one of these for ages. And this Autumn when things are quieter in the garden…I am going to start.
    Thank you, for helping me to see what I like 🙂

    • I’m so pleased to see you back! The quilt you make reference to is made of wool and silk and was actually used as a coffin cover (hope that doesn’t ruin it for you!) The show booklet says it was made about 1890 and used by the Order of Odd Fellows during memorial celebrations. My photo only shows a small portion of the quilt–it was truly fabulous (and definitely inspired by the crazy quilt tradition).

  10. First of all, what excellent and inspired rhyming!!! That is not easy to do. And the quilts are an astounding testimony to human creativity… such variety and beauty and ingenuity. I was invited to sing at a quilting convention earlier this year (I shared songs such as “Putting It Together” from Sunday In The Park With George and “I Can Sing a Rainbow” — modified at the end to become “I Can Quilt a Rainbow”), and it was a pleasure both to see MANY different quilt projects and to meet many different quilters. And to learn about each quilter’s “stash,” of collected fabrics… I LOVE quilts and have been inheriting a few from my mother as she empties her home in preparation for selling it. A big part of their appeal is definitely the sense that another human being’s hands — and creative spirit — made them. Thank you for this great post!

    • Thank YOU for this great comment! I’m glad you liked the rhyming–with your background in music and musical theatre, that comes as a huge compliment. I’m intrigued by your songs for the quilting convention–I bet they were a big hit, with the thought you put into choosing just the right ones. And you’re lucky to both have and *appreciate* the quilts from your mother–keep them safe!

  11. I am super impressed now & I was that before also. 🙂
    You are a wonderful woman with a giant creativity & expertise too! Thanks so much for this cool fab post to show off all of your skills! xxx

  12. I love this post. I don’t quilt but I’m ready to head to the quilt show. You’re absolutely right that there’s something for everyone. What incredible skill and art are displayed by these works. And, you’re a very skilled artist to pull together this compelling picture and word poem.

    • Thanks, Sheryl–I had a lot of fun with the post. If you see that a quilt show is being held near you, give it a visit. Maybe you’ll become a quilter . . . . 😉

  13. I’m one of those people that can’t quilt but LOVES everything about them. They’re beautiful pieces of art, an example of fine craftsmanship (craftwomanship), and a reflection of the skill and patience, not to mention creativity that goes into everyone of them. While many of them don’t fit with my sense of decor, I enjoyed and appreciated each piece.

    I’m too deep into menopause to fully appreciate a quilt for a dress, but I admire the sentiment.

    As for your clever musical theatre rendition, bravo! A fun, fun piece.

    • It was a fun, fun piece to write, too–thanks! And I think you certainly could quilt if you were inclined to! I’m in a sewing group with some experienced quilters and some who have just begun and it’s amazing how fast the newbies are picking things up and progressing!

      • What fun to be in a sewing group. I’m going to add that to the list of things to do when both boys are away at college and I have more free time. I do enjoy hand-sewing, so I could probably pick it up. Thanks for your encouragement.

  14. All of these look amazing, I loved ‘attending’ this quilt show from my corner of the world. Even though it was through a computer screen. Must be even more gorgeous in person 🙂

    • Hi, Marieken! I’ve missed you and your blog posts–I hope everything is okay. I wish you could’ve seen these quilts in person–the details are beyond description!

  15. Well, I don’t quilt and I don’t sew, but I love quilts. I have a couple very old ones that are falling apart and I keep threatening to mend, but haven’t yet. And I love the quilt show photos. I was smiling the whole way through. What a striking variety of styles and patterns.

  16. The egg quilt or how I would refer to it as breakfast in bed is hilarious. The dress is stunning. Thanks for your quilt show, as a quilter your post has inspired me to make breakfast! LOL

Leave a Reply

