Our Weaving Ways (Summer 2016)

The weaving continues, con brio.

We’ve made an addition to our pride of looms. It’s big, it’s beautiful, it came from a good friend who’s an excellent weaver—great karma! It’s not the loom’s fault that I feel a little intimidated . . .

IMG_4088

Since I’ve indulged my ego in my most recent show-and-tell, I’ve woven quite a lot.

A bunch of cotton towels like this, with varying bands of varying colors. Many of them have already been given away.

IMG_3966

A set of these towels, heavy on linen, to practice some of the skills I learned at weaving school. You can see one of the handwoven hanging tabs that make me go “squeeee!”

IMG_3974

A blanket and coordinating pillow for a baby girl who was so excited to see the gifts that she came 5 weeks early!

And this set of Monk’s belt towels and a runner—you got a glimpse of these when I cut them off them loom.

My husband, Don, has been weaving, too. He made this pretty runner and has two more huge and gorgeous runners waiting to be hemmed and wet finished.

IMG_3975

He wove part of the baby blanket, too, since it was a gift from us both. He has been spending a lot of time on a big, non-weaving project that I’ll show you soon!

So many projects, so many plans . . .

Did you have a productive summer, doing your favorite things? Have you done your show-and-tell? If so, leave a link in your comment!

72 thoughts on “Our Weaving Ways (Summer 2016)

  1. Wow, that loom does look intimidating. At first glance, it reminds me of a big church organ. Did you start weaving with a small tabletop loom? Your projects are so gorgeous!

    • Thanks, Laura! I did start on a 4-shaft table-top loom (not rigid heddle, that’s different) but, whether the loom fits on a table or takes up a room, the principles are the same. I just need to sit down and make friends with this new one!

    • Thanks, Cathe. I need to remind myself that all looms work on the same basic principles–this one just has more design possibilities. I’ll get friendly with it soon!

  2. Is it a Macomber? You didn’t say, for the benefit of us weaving geeks! Looks like my baby.
    Do you wet finish after hemming? I was thinking I would cut the towel warp off the loom, serge each end and wet finish. And then hem. I would think they would shrink so much after wet fnishing…..

    • It’s a Leclerc Nilus II, 45 inch weaving width, 12 shafts. I wet finish first, then hem. I don’t have a serger so I bought fusible thread and put in 4 picks of that on both ends and then fuse it after I cut the cloth off, so I can cut the towels apart before wet finishing. The fusible thread usually holds . . .

  3. Wow dear Kerry – show away! These are all so beautiful and if I were you I’d be running about the streets with my towels and various other woven bits draped over my arm and about my body to ensure all and sundry knew what beauties were coming off MY loom 🙂 You two are naturals! I can see why the new loom would be a tad intimidating it looks like it knows how to do everything and then make a nice cup of tea at the end ………. The monks belt towels really appeal to me – that is a sure fire winner for your shop!! I’ve been showing and telling over on my blog too – It’s good to be getting back in the groove!!

    • I love that image of running the streets, draped in handwoven! That would give the neighbors something to talk about! I like the Monk’s belt towels, too–I really like the bold blocks of color that are possible with that type of weaving (did you ever think you’d hear me talking about bold color?!?)

  4. Beautiful “new” loom! Congratulations, but like some others, I’d like to know what it is. It looks a lot like my LeClerc.

  5. So, how many looms do you have now? Just curious 🙂
    Love that baby blanket and pillow. Great colors.
    By the way, congrats to Penn State yesterday!

    • We have four in all–two 4-shaft looms, one 8-shaft, one 12-shaft. The number of shafts increases the design possibilities. The baby blanket colors were the request of the new parents–unusual choices but I love the way they worked! And YES, yes, yes, to Penn State and VaTech! Good luck with Tennessee–it’s clear they can be beaten . . .

    • Thanks, Anne! To clarify, I wove the things I showed on a four-shaft loom–this new one will give me even more possibilities! I’ve enjoyed watching you experiment with your samplers–it looks very liberating!

  6. Ah, my summer projects are at the garden and the garden and…getting out in the sun and if I’m lucky doing some canning for the winter. This year? Ha! Still, I’ve had some nice kayaking today and an opportunity to admire your weaving, which is really at the “Wow!” level. I love the towel tab for the hook especially.

    • I get such a kick out of those towel tabs! Silly, but true. I’m glad to hear you got to go kayaking–I always mean to but never take the time and pretty soon the kayaks will be stored for the winter . . .

  7. Those are very impressive pieces. Please don’t look my was as I’ve just turned a bright shade of green. Weaving your own cloth is something to be VERY proud of and you are doing it so beautifully. I’ve been working on several projects one of which finally made it to a post. I have more that I haven’t had time to post on yet.

      • There is a little bit of magic in it all, isn’t there? Thank you. I’m glad you liked it. It scared the heck out of me but it was better than continuing to look at the worn wood.

    • It’s so hard to say how long one towel takes. I usually put a long enough warp on the loom to do 5 towels so there’s all the time involved in measuring the warp and “dressing” the loom–this actually can take longer than the time when I’m actually throwing the shuttle. Once I sit down to start the weaving, I might do a towel in two days, but I never weave all day, usually a couple hours at a time. It’s hard to say, really . . .

  8. You’ve gotten a lot done – beautiful work and very show-and- tell-worthy. I especially love the blue towels and the pattern of Don’s runner.
    I sewed some gingham pants and shorts, culottes, tees, and finished some embroidery. I never did get to that shirtdress I was planning to make.

    • It’s funny–Don did his runner from a pattern in a magazine and followed the directions carefully. And the pattern is entirely different from the one shown in the mag! Luckily, it’s still really pretty! You’ve done a lot of clothes sewing, I know–the shirtdress can still happen!

  9. I am squeeing at everything, but I have an extra squee for the linen towels. Have you woven a label yet which says Made by Kerry? Our clothes for boarding school always had woven labels but I think the names were actually machine embroidered onto woven tape.

  10. I love those blue and white towels with the hanging tabs! And I am amazed that you had room for another loom.

    As for me, I’ve been working at keeping the bittersweet at bay. It hasn’t engulfed the house yet so that’s a good thing.

    • I, too, am amazed that we found room for this loom. It wasn’t easy. If we get one more, a couch or a bed will need to go . . . . I’m glad to hear you’ve won the bittersweet battle, if not the war . . .

    • Thanks, Jennifer! I sometimes get really sick of a towel warp by the time I’m done with it. Yes, it’s a 12-harness, 45 inch, Leclerc Nilus II. Plenty of loom for me!

    • Thanks, Jean–if I didn’t force myself to try other things, everything would be blue! Yes, it’s a good, old Canadian Leclerc and my leg muscles could probably use a bit more exercise!

  11. Wow Kerry! They’re all lovely! Lucky are the people who received them!
    You are a very talented lady!! 🙂

    I feel like I spent the entire summer reading in a coffee shop!! Winter is my most productive time 🙂

    • I think so many of us had those small looms! I had been intrigued by weaving for a long time but felt I had too many hobbies already. Then I took one class . . . and was smitten!

  12. I cannot weave but I love looms, they are so intricate and I love its sounds! Your work is so incredibly beautiful…and indeed next time keep those presents hidden for babies to come! No wonder it arrived right away!! Lets not talk about my summer…I just look forward to fall. we had a couple of cool days and I knitted a hat in 2 days. xo Johanna

    • I like the sound of the looms, too–noisy but a nice rhythm and it’s easy to tell work is being accomplished! That baby arrived even before her baby shower was held! And you know I agree about fall–we are feeling it quite definitely here and I am SO happy.

  13. Now this is impressive – both of you are weaving. Wow. The couple that weaves together stays together. 🙂 This looks like an amazing piece of equipment so I have to ask do you have a dedicated work/studio area? Your finished project are quite lovely and I can only imagine how happy you made the recipients of the gifts. 🙂

    • Ha–that’s a lot of pressure, representing the whole world of weavers! If you knew more weavers you’d know how basic our work is–but isn’t that cool about weaving? You don’t have to be very experienced in order to make completely credible work!

Leave a Reply

