Regrouping, and the Giveaway

img_4877

I promised a giveaway.

Then I postponed it, after last week’s US election.

I thought I would associate the weaving of the towel I’m about to give away with the utter devastation I felt last week, and I didn’t want it tainted that way.

Now, I find, that, instead, that I will weave the towel and, all the while, I will be thinking about the generosity of spirit shown by you, my friends in the blogging community.

Amid stormy seas, I have been buoyed by your support. I do feel better now,

Now, it’s not just you, of course. Certainly talking and commiserating with local friends has helped.

A lot of what I’m reading on Facebook has helped—really, it has! I skip the items that add to my unease and read the passionate, the funny, the irreverent reactions.

My favorites, I think, are Barack and Joe memes, imagining conversations between our wonderful current president and vice president. These jokes are juvenile, yes, and make me snort with laughter. (Truly, just Google “Barack and Joe”—I bet you’ll laugh.)

And, like everyone else in the Western world, it seems, I shed a tear to the opening moments of Saturday Night Live last week, with Kate McKinnon depicting a solemn, introspective Hillary Clinton singing Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.” I shed a tear but still, somehow, felt comforted.

Also, like so many, I’ve spent happy moments trying (and failing) to capture a good photo of the Supermoon, while the inexorable rising and setting of that moon reminds me of things larger than our election.

Hugging a small baby helped; watching a 3-year-old sing “It’s A Wonderful World,” to cheer up his parents post-election—that helped, too. Going out to lunch, having dinner with dear friends, all the things that are always pleasurable, took on new power to lift me up.

But, in large part, the overwhelming response from you folks, in the face of your own feelings and opinions on the subject, truly helped. I hesitated about posting about the election but am so, so glad I did—because of you.

Do not get me wrong, I have not moved on. I do not see this as normal or the usual business of a transfer of power. With every headline about choices made regarding close advisors or plans for the first 100 days, my heart sinks again, as I worry about friends I know, and those I don’t know but care no less about.

But it seems to be my nature to want to feel good and feisty and optimistic.

So, I’m buoyed by your responses to what I wrote, your caring and the pep talks you gave. I’m buoyed by reading your posts, whether you’ve joined me in my angst and revealed your feelings, or whether you’ve stuck to regular programming and written about the happy, normal moments in your life, the good that is still all around us.

These are the gifts of the blogging community.

I’d like to give you all gifts. If there were world enough and time, I’d weave something for each of you.

I need to start with the winner of the giveaway I announced before the world turned upside down.

My random number generator came up with number 27, and that number belongs to Caroline. Caroline writes Suzanne’s Mom’s Blog, and it seems really appropriate that Caroline should win because, not only has she been wonderfully supportive to me in the past week, but her blog is always uplifting. She posts daily about quirky, fascinating stories, all of which focus on the marvelous, strange, delightful world we live in. Caroline, start thinking about the colors you’d like in your towel!

As I said, I wish I could give you each a gift, as you have given me the gift of support and friendship. We’ll have another giveaway before too long and, in the meantime, . . .

Thank you.

63 thoughts on “Regrouping, and the Giveaway

  1. Maybe this will make you chuckle. Always on the lookout for good but healthy recipes, I found one for fig bars. No baking involved. Just blend figs, walnuts, unsweetened coconut, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, dried cranberries and flax meal in the food processor. Add cinnamon, a couple teaspoons of honey as well as a drizzle of coconut oil. Press into an 8 by 8 inch pan lined with plastic wrap and refrigerate until set, about an hour. Easy, huh? I couldn’t wait to try it. An hour later I cut a bit size square. Not what I was expecting. It tasted weird. It had a garlic flavor. How could that be? The coconut oil I bought had garlic oil in it. I didn’t see it clearly spelled out on the laberl and I didn’t see the illustration of a garlic clove on the label. All I saw was “coconut oil”.

    This is too expensive to throw out and the ingredients are so healthy. I’m going to buy some sharp cheddar cheese and put that on top of each piece. I think it will work well. More of a savory treat than sweet.

    I did see the Barack and Joe memes. Very funny. And some of the accompanying photos were hysterical.

  2. Glad you are feeling better – community does, indeed, help. Try not to freak out about the staffing choices – argh!!!! Focus on what you can do, influence and change, and do that until more can be done. Weaving helps!

      • lol perfect analogy. I read an article someplace that said Trump refused to think about the transition because he didn’t want to jinx himself, and he was astounded to learn when he visited the White House last week that he has to replace ALL staff. Every single person. Now, how could he really not know that? How could no one have mentioned that to him? Obama will have his hands full making this a smooth transition.

        I looked up all the Barack Joe memes and had a good laugh.

  3. So happy for Caroline,she’s a lucky lady! 🙂 that big moon has been a real beauty. Just hear you are back to being creative ,and will be posting those lively woven’s is a gift to me. 🙂

  4. To add to British woes, that supermoon was invisible to most of us because of thick cloud 😦 .
    So glad you’re feeling better, Kerry, as your posts bring joy to many of us. Just off to Google “Barack and Joe” and wondering if, as a Brit, I’ll get the jokes. I’ll let you know.

  5. Well, shoot. Maybe I’ll have to come up with a trade for you instead. One X from me in trade for one Y from you. We’ll just have to work out the details of X and Y. 🙂

    As to the election and aftermath, it’s dismal for sure. Sorry I can’t offer words of hope other than, I think we and the republic will survive. But we have work to do.

      • I do have a very pretty table cloth and 4 napkins with incredibly fine applique on them. There is a stain or two. Will need to get out and take pix to email you, to see if you are interested.

  6. Our post US-election surprise has been the violent upheaval of the earth causing mayhem and damage – mostly to the roads and infra-structure – but also to many of my friends in different parts of the country and my daughter in Wellington (the capital city). I tell everyone I think it is our good Earth trying to shake off all the anguish and angst that has been poured into her these past days. So I’m glad you are feeling better! So many in your country are are standing up and taking up actions that are peaceful and community based and say quite clearly ‘we are not with him!’ Isn’t it wonderful!! I do not know your winner, but she sounds a most worthy one 🙂 I’m off to find some Barack and Joe memes ……………

    • I have been thinking about you, in that awful upheaval! We don’t have earthquakes much where I live (just blizzards!) and I would be terrified. Did the Barack and Joe memes make sense to you or are they too idiosyncratically American?

  7. Congratulations to Caroline!
    Well done you too, Kerry, for writing such an optimistic and hopeful post. Yes, the world must continue turning and we must do our bit to make it a better and fairer place to live despite the many set-backs.

  8. Glad you’re feeling better, though this will take a while! And thanks for the Barack and Joe tips. I could use a little more laughter…Congrats to Caroline on getting the towel.

  9. Congratulations to Caroline! She is getting a beautiful towel, but we, your readers, also get a gift from you, every time you blog. And thank you for that!!!

  10. I, too, am enjoying all the memes and jokes. If you can have a good laugh the body and mind work much better, don’t they? Congratulations to Caroline. You will have brought a big smile to her face and heart.

    • So those jokes make sense to you, even though you’re a New Zealander? But you lived in the US so that probably puts you in touch with some of the obscure references. I worried that international readers might be left out of the joke.

      • Well, I could be missing some things but I understand enough to find most of them incredibly funny. I get lots of chortles, snorts and lols. 😀

  11. I’m behind by one post, so I will go there next. We’ve all been a wreck, haven’t we? I’m reaching out for positives, but still mostly avoiding the media. I feel awful every time I see his face or hear his name.

    You do give us all a gift, Kerry, with your words and your approach to life. Any chance you’ll venture into Washington for the march in January? I would love to meet you in person. xo

    • Are you really coming to the March?! We’ve talked about it and there’s a fair amount of local talk about busses, etc., but I get very hung up on the logistics–how to get around, where to sleep, etc. I also wish I could see more about the specific goals and purposes of the March, too . . . I guess my answer is maybe.

      • Yes! It’s important to me to be there so I’m working out the details now. If it falls through, there is a march in San Jose and in San Francisco, but I have east coast friends that I hope to join in DC. I hope you’ll come.

      • Kerry, join us at the March! Of course it makes no sense to do it this way, but if you come to my neck of the woods, I can put you up. A couple others, hopefully Alys, will be staying. Well take the bus up and back all in one long day, but at least there will be no worries about DC accommodations.

      • Such a nice offer, Laurie! If we go, we’ll probably go to MA and ride down with a friend from there. I’m still highly ambivalent . . .

  12. Glad to hear that you are feeling a little better. Ad well as laughing at the Barak and Joe memes I’ve been doing a bit of reading to try and understand what happened. I’m beginning to see why the vote went Trump’s way in so many places and even to understand why his behaviour was welcomed… I don’t agree and I’m still appalled, but at least I’m not quite so bewildered.

    • It’s interesting to see how many of his campaign promises he’s already dialing back. And it’s terrifying to see his appointments to critical positions and to listen to his supporters rationalize it all. Dear me . . .

  13. I’m laughing a bit more, printing and stitching too. Reading posts like yours are so good, as well as the comments of your readers. Breathe – deeply – and let’s see what beauty we can bring to this new world

    • Aren’t the readers’ comments wonderful? I’ve been feeling so much better while reading them. I trying to be vigilant about all that is happening, and prepared to react as necessary, while getting on with the things that bring me pleasure.

  14. Another lovely, heartfelt post, Kerry. I’m slowly coming out from under my media blackout, but refuse to watch anything where I might have to see him. I have announced a moratorium on all political discussions with my family (all Republican) who will be visiting for Thanksgiving. I, too, am still horrified and appalled, but am trying to re-engage. At least our teams one yesyerday!!!

Leave a Reply

