Advent, My Way #5

Some years, Christmas might be low key.

Sometimes, Christmas might be minimal.

We might forgo the tree and the wreaths and the white lights.

But no Christmas ever comes without Santa, and one Santa in particular.

This guy:

IMG_4145.jpg

With his friends,Β these guys:

img_4147

On this stocking:

IMG_4144.jpg

Made by my guy:

don-stitch2

My husband stitched this stocking for me over 10 years ago. As he stitched, he kept track of the hours spent stitching and, every year when the Santa comes out, I am reminded of time and energy and, yes, the love that went into the making.

Don has made several other Christmas stockings over the years, for other people he loves. I wrote about them here.

I know some of you have made Christmas stockings, too–raise your hands!

I can only hope they are cherished as much as mine is!

img_4154

58 thoughts on “Advent, My Way #5

  1. It doesn’t get much more special than that. It is beautiful. Years ago my Mom made me a tree skirt and four stockings to match, and then we added two more for the grandkids. Those stockings are visual reminders of a very talented and strong lady. The tree skirt and all or some of the stockings come out every year. It wouldn’t be Christmas without them. πŸŽ„

    • I love that Don does this sort of craft work–he weaves as well, and gets so excited about making wonderful things for people! A wonderful Christmas to you, too!

  2. That is such a wonderful story! And such a beautiful gift. I’ve done stockings, and they are a BIG investment of time, which never seems so much, when one loves the recipient!

  3. I love your stocking and all that it means to you, and to Don. I have made a few stockings but none of this nature. I plan to make one this year, for Son’s girlfriend. We actually have one I made for his ex-fiancee, and while Santa could use it (no name on it,) it doesn’t seem right to me.

    • I *thought* I remembered a reference in the past to a stocking being made for your son’s girlfriend! I think a brand new one, just for this girlfriend, is the safest choice!

  4. Fabulous work! My mother liked to do detailed cross stitch like that….me, I can never seem to finish those sort of pieces.
    Mom knitted us all Christmas stockings from Vogue knitting magazine! It’s a wonderful pattern and they re-issued it about the time Peter and I got engaged so he has one too. We cherish them, of course. I feel badly for people who don’t have some sort of homemade stockings… Mine needs some repair and I probably should wash it! ;-D

  5. It’s a beautiful stocking! I visited the first post about it too. Such lovely photos! Your Don is very special, I say this every time he makes a guest appearance on your blog πŸ™‚ For the past decade or possibly a bit longer we have been using stockings made by my eldest daughter, who hand sewed and hand stitched every centimetre. Except for my stocking, which she purchased because it fit the bill perfectly – it is a machine knit that stretches as stuff is put in – it is cause for great hilarity and ingenious filling methods πŸ™‚ Now what does that say about me? πŸ™‚

    • I’d love to see the stockings your daughter made–they sound wonderful! But yours, that can expand and be stuffed, really speaks to me! It sounds like LOTS of fun! I’ll pass along your kind words to Don.

  6. That is a beautiful stocking! A true treasure. πŸ™‚

    I have nothing like that, but my mom has a set of three Santa mugs that her sister made for her the year of my first Christmas, when Mom’s family was just three. They are simply beautiful, and I hope to at least have mine someday. πŸ™‚

      • I could knit stockings – not sure how easy… but she has the stocking her mother made her when she was a little girl, so I won’t try to compete with that one. And I have one I sewed for myself when I moved to Maine. Not as beautiful as yours, but it works. πŸ™‚

    • He had a LOT of fun keeping track of the hours–and it still gets brought up every year when we take the stocking out! I’m with you–I don’t really want to come face to face with the time I invest in something!

  7. That is a STUNNING stocking and the fact that your husband made it is even more special. If I ever found one like him, I’d think about another crack at the marriage thing. So far no luck. I have never made a stocking, just a tree skirt.

  8. Kerry, what an incredible gift. It’s gorgeously detailed and full of whimsy. Don has a steady hand and a good eye. It’s nice seeing him work on the piece in front of your lake. I’ll have to go back and look at your original stocking post.

    • The pattern of the stocking is delightful–very rustic and perfect for our lives up here in the north. He loves doing these very fussy, detailed designs–I can’t imagine!

      • Sometimes intricate work frees the mind and allows you to relax. I wonder if that’s true for Don? I looked back at your earlier post and see he’s been at this for some time. Brilliant!

  9. What a fabulous piece of work, and how wonderful to have it. This is the kind of thing that really makes Christmas special, isn’t it. Please pass on congrats to your hubby πŸ™‚

  10. Lucky you – two stalwart men in your life, hubby and Santa. I would call that a woodland Santa. I don’t see a Don stocking in any of your photos. I hope he has one too! Maybe a simple burlap stocking or a woven one?

    • I think woodland Santa os the perfect way to describe him! And, no, Don has not finished a stocking for himself. He started one but seems not too inspired to work on it. Maybe the idea of a woven one would appeal . . .

Leave a Reply

