Advent, My Way #17

img_5682

For many of you, this may be a holy scene, but I have been having very unholy thoughts about it for days now.

This is a diabolical, stress-producing picture.

Oh, not the scene itself, but the way it has to be achieved.

The scene comes from the Christian New Testament book of Luke, 2:8-11:

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. (Luke 2: 8-11)

The Annunciation of the Shepherds. Nice. A bucolic scene with everyday people and an angel, plus a few sheep for good measure. Lovely.

Not so lovely!

This depiction is on an antique puzzle that I found in my aunt’s attic. When I saw it, it stirred dim memories of being brought out at the farm at Christmas.

I thought, “Oh, good! More memories of a splendid childhood Christmas! Something I can put together real fast and blog about!”

That was days ago! I have never had so much trouble with a puzzle before! Sturm und drang and gnashing of teeth!

It’s not really a jigsaw puzzle, you see. The pieces don’t hook together with those little tongues. The pieces are all either triangles, squares, or rectangles.

You place them gingerly next to each other, and, if you look at them cross-eyed, they shift.

I dug out a tablecloth to anchor them on and that helps, but only a little.

And, if a curious cat comes by, all progress can be undone in a split second.

We have no box to show us what the finished product should look like. As we make progress, it becomes apparent that pieces are missing. All the remaining pieces are plain dark blue.

I am over it! If Christmas is supposed to be mellow and relaxed and serene, I need to stop right now and be happy with this the way it is.

I hope you can enjoy it more than I have!

img_5680

43 thoughts on “Advent, My Way #17

  1. Some how I just knew a cat would appear in this post!

    I never saw a jigsaw puzzle cut this way. I wonder how old it is…

    • I could put a cat in every blog post but that might not be to everyone’s liking! I will need to try and research the puzzle–I think it’s pretty old but beyond that I have no idea, really.

    • I’m not really a jigsaw person either–I like a useful product to come from my time spent on something. I would never have started this if a) I didn’t need a blog topic and b) I hadn’t thought it would be super fast and easy!

      • Keeping something for sentimental reasons can be useful – as prompt and waymarker for one’s own memory, or as a means of helping others understand one’s own life story ; or beautiful, if not in its own right, then at least in the thoughts that the item prompts. If an artefact does neither of those things, then perhaps it’s more of an encumbrance. We’ve moved house so many times, we have had to have some kind of rationale to what we keep, what we let go of!

  2. That Angel looks a bit chagrined and stern too…I guess there was reason this was in a box in the attic. I suspect many before you have tried and lost the Christmas serenity ;o) And that cat is sure;y enjoying itself tremendously! It is a beauty btw xo Johanna
    Ps Charley will not make nasty remarks about your cats anymore but wishes to point out, she would never ruin your pretty puzzle (unless you left a cookie on it unattended…)

  3. I like Kathy Reeves’ suggestion above–what a clever idea! I do enjoy working on puzzles, but have not seen one like this before. It looks like some color tiles my kids used to have from Germany or the Netherlands.

  4. Recently I have seen some puzzles cut this way and thought it was just a modern fad. How interesting that this puzzle has some age.

  5. I love jigsaw puzzles (even have a jigsaw game on my iPad) This one would drive me bonkers, but I find it irresistible. I am looking at your photo and thinking “I wonder if that piece goes there?”!

  6. Well this is embarrassing but I’m just gonna say it – I kept thinking the manger scene pieces were all fabric and I kept reading to see how it came together in a quilt! Nope. It’s really a puzzle. Like the real honest-to-goodness kind of puzzle.

  7. Okay, I just want to reach my fingers into the screen and adjust some of the pieces. The star pieces that you have just above the hills need to rotate 180 degrees and be on the top border. But you knew that, right? You just put them there where the colors don’t really match just to see who’s paying attention, right? 🙂

      • I am positive I would not have gotten as far as you did.
        I was thinking about your comment about puzzles not seeming to be a productive use of time. I agree with you, but I do think that when there is a group of people visiting they have their purpose — various people can take a few minutes with the puzzle and chat while they put in whatever pieces they can figure out. It’s not one of those competitive pastimes like chess, where only two people can play at a time and everybody else is supposed to be quiet. This puzzle of yours could keep a lot of people occupied!

  8. I love a good jigsaw puzzle and just finished one called “Crazy Santas” on loan from a friend. It was 1,000 pieces and all red, white and black. It was hard. That said, I would never attempt one that does not interlock. That would drive me nuts. I’m glad you’re setting this one aside.

    Lindy spent lots of time on the puzzle in question. It eventually got done, but she gets no credit for the assist. 🙂

    • I don’t usually do jigsaw puzzles–they don’t seem “productive” to me (whatever that means!)–but I was weirdly obsessed with this one for awhile. Until it became clear to me that I WAS never going to get it finished! Your crazy Santa one sounds really, really hard . . .

  9. I am not surprised you gave up on this puzzle! I enjoy puzzles and am always loathe to give up a challenge but I think I would have done the same as you in this case – especially as Advent is such a busy time of year.

    • I think the thing that killed me was finding that at least one piece was missing. Then I knew I couldn’t ever really finish it . . . That’s my story, anyway! Maybe I’m just not a patient person . . .

Leave a Reply

