Advent, My Way #24

IMG_5772.jpg

My favorite Christmas song, from my favorite Christmas album.

In all my ambivalence about the religious aspects of Christmas, I know one thing—I hope you all will find happiness and contentment at this season.

As the song says,

I bid you pleasure and I bid you cheer,
From a heathen and a pagan,
On the side of the rebel Jesus.

The Rebel Jesus, by Jackson Browne

The streets are filled with laughter and light
And the music of the season
And the merchants’ windows are all bright
With the faces of the children
And the families hurrying to their homes
As the sky darkens and freezes
Will be gathering around the hearths and tables
Giving thanks for all God’s graces
And the birth of the rebel Jesus

They call him by the “Prince of Peace”
And they call him by “The Saviour”
And they pray to him upon the sea
And in every bold endeavor
As they fill his churches with their pride and gold
And their faith in him increases
But they’ve turned the nature that I worshipped in
From a temple to a robber’s den
In the words of the rebel Jesus

We guard our world with locks and guns
And we guard our fine possessions
And once a year when Christmas comes
We give to our relations
And perhaps we give a little to the poor
If the generosity should seize us
But if any one of us should interfere
In the business of why they are poor
They get the same as the rebel Jesus

But pardon me if I have seemed
To take the tone of judgement
For I’ve no wish to come between
This day and your enjoyment
In this life of hardship and of earthly toil
We have need for anything that frees us
So I bid you pleasure and I bid you cheer
From a heathen and a pagan
On the side of the rebel Jesus.

54 thoughts on “Advent, My Way #24

  1. I’m visiting from the Crafty Creek …. I like the Chieftains and enjoyed listening to them just now. I enjoyed this post and your other Advent ones ….. your Christmas memories were entertaining and reminded me of Christmas’s past – they were the best. Thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas!

  2. Have a lovely day, whatever you do!
    Having coffee in a fun new roaster spot, buying thyme (I hope!) and heading home. We plan to stay at home and eat and rink and open gifts and watch fun Christmas movies for two days!
    I called the B&B yesterday and reserved the room across the street for us in June! Really looking forward to it. Will you be going to Vavstuga next year?

    • It sounds like you have a perfect plan for Christmas–a lot like what we have planned! I’m not sure about our Vavstuga plans–we haven’t booked anything so far. We keep talking about a big trip in the fall (Scotland?) but haven’t done anything to make it happen . . . who knows?!

  3. Hmmm. I’m sure that we have the Chiefton’s Christmas in CD, but I find the Clancy Brother’s instead. Must add that to the post-Christmas list to squirrel away for next year. I have hear the Rebel Jesus before. Merry Christmas.
    Oscar

  4. Kerry, you are right, Jesus was a rebel. He turned the world upside. If only we spent more time listening to His words and following His actions, instead of being religious. I wish you and yours health, peace and wonder in 2017. Hugs to you from the midwest.

      • I just walked the dog, it’s almost 6 am here, and the clouds are so low you could touch them. It is silent right now, and I think it’s supposed to hit us about 9 am mtn. We are on the edge so we are waiting to see what we really get. 🙂

    • I will, indeed, have a Merry Christmas, my way! Thanks for reading along on the advent series –I have to admit I’m a little glad it’s over–I was running out of things to say, for sure! Have a wonderful holiday!

  5. [J+D] Dear Kerry, we wish you and yours a very contented Christmas and a year ahead full of blessings (or discovering those you already have!). You’ve worked hard – you’ve worked hard and earnestly even at Christmas! You’ve earned your rewards!

  6. Goodness, I don’t think I’ve visited since Advent Day #10 or something like that! Perhaps I’ll find time to go back, but for now, let me wish you a Merry Christmas morning.
    I’m in Atlanta with my son and while waiting for the household to awaken, I’m enjoying coffee and blog visits. What a quiet treat!!
    Enjoy your day and thank you for sharing that wonderful quote!

  7. Hi Kerry, I just wanted to let you know that I am taking a break from my photo blog. I started a new knitting blog and that is where you can find me if you are interested. I will be following with my new blog the next time I sign in – laurasknittingjournal.wordpress.com

  8. Kerry, wishing you and your Sweetie a tender Christmas!..what a beautiful tune! I generally had a weakness for the Pogues Christmas tune, despite the fact that I know it is an adage. I trust you have a superb Christmas!

Leave a Reply

