I Wander As I Wind . . .

IMG_8789I’m winding warp. By the time the day is out, I will have 7 more bundles like this, all for a set of towels.

Winding warp is kind of boring, kind of repetitious, kind of mundane, but without it no weaving can be done.

When my mind wanders as I wind, I think of possibilities.

Because winding warp is all about possibilities and all about anticipation.

In this warp I see Christmas, of course, and winter. Snow and brisk winds and the cozy fires of home.

I see strong fabric where there is now simply thread.

I see useful objects that will please people who have values like mine, who value function and form and the imprint of the human hand.

I see hours spent watching the cloth grow, watching candy cane stripes wend through white, fresh and crisp and pleasing.

Through the occasional stress and struggles and bad news of daily life, I see making and becoming and creating.

So, I will go wind warp.

67 thoughts on “I Wander As I Wind . . .

  1. I am finding my hand sewing like that too….meditative. My thoughts often return to the other embroiderers in my life, my mother and her grandmother. Enjoy the making, Kerry, enjoy finding some calm in your life.

  2. There are parts of creating a quilt that I enjoy more than others. But all the parts have to be done. Even unstitching, which stops many a quilter from finishing a project. Me? Nope. It’s just one more thing we have to do. Winding warp sounds like a good way to spend a day. Music or podcasts for part might help the time pass, but quiet is good, too.

  3. The threads are so lovely! Kabir wrote in a quote this about weavers…No one could understand the secret of this weaver who, coming into existence, spread the warp as the world; He fixed the earth and the sky as the pillars, and he used the sun and the moon as two shuttles; He took thousands of stars and perfected the cloth; but even today he weaves, and the end is difficult to fathom.. your thread holds mysteries.

  4. I’m cutting down dead phlox and other perennials right now and my mind wanders when I’m out there cleaning out the flower beds. Raking leaves will provide me with the same opportunity shortly. And I am enjoying every moment of autumn.

    • Oh, yes–lots of raking and cutting back of annuals here, too. But it sure doesn’t feel like autumn otherwise! So warm–I do worry about what this means for winter . . .

  5. It looks very Christmassy – the colours – and they are always lovely to see beginning their journey…… I’ve been making light catchers and after every one is completed I clean up. There are beads scattered all about the desk (and the floor). Findings of all shapes and sizes have tucked themselves into and under things they have no right to tuck themselves into and under. There is beading wire snippets, glue, bits that I thought might be good and were subsequently ignored and who now must hunt out and find their home again and charms scattered all about the place that must be returned to their correct – or almost correct – location, else I’ll never find them again. This is the job I do that allows my mind to wander and ponder and spark random ideas that come to fruition when the work space is clear again I once more start opening all my containers and spilling beads and prisms and glittery sparkles all over my work top again. Ah the joys of creation!! xo

    • That’s very disciplined of you, to clean up so thoroughly after each one! I try to put things away as I move through these projects I do but often get caught up in the next steps. I think, “why should I put x, y, z away, when I may need it again tomorrow?” And chaos ensues . . .

    • Oh, cleaning windows–now there’s something I *should* be doing! Actually, when winding warp I can get in trouble if my mind wanders too much because there’s counting involved. It’s a delicate balance!

      • Oh dear yes! I have terrible trouble concentrating when I should be counting! Or those field of vision tests at the opticians when I should be noticing spots on a screen….. :O

  6. I can see the appeal of this peaceful task, though I imagine you have to be in the right frame of mind. Starting off in a bad temper may not be conducive to a happy session.

    • No sectional beam just the mundane fact that the warping mill I have was obviously a DIY project and the dowels that form the upright sides start to bow if I wind too much warp at one time. So, I’m winding two pattern repeats and taking them off–it also helps me double check myself in the next stages of dressing the loom.

      • Oh, that makes sense and I can see how it can be helpful too. Most warping boards and mills I’ve used (total 5) all tend to warp a bit – some more than others. I’ve always wondered if a strong wood needs to be used for the dowels.

  7. When the project I’m working on gets too complicated or my shoulders start to talk back to me, I wind warp. There is definitely something meditative about winding. And yes, I always lose count. It’s a happy surprise when things come out even.

    • Winding the stripes, and changing colors a lot, was tedious but it kept me on track with the counting. But when I’ve done single color warps with hundreds of ends? Oy!

  8. ahhh, like winding yarn from skein to cake in anticipation of a project. wonderfully freeing for the mind and a definite sense of accomplishment when finished. πŸ™‚ Those towels will be lovely!

  9. This reminds me a little of casting on in knitting. I always had to count and recount to get the right number of stitches. Beginnings, the middle, and the end. I like being in the middle the best with knitting, and with a book, and with most things. I like finishing sewing clothes when the outcome is wearable.

  10. I love the movement in and mood of this post, Kerry. I have some balls of yarn to wind in the morning, which I am looking forward to – I love the rhythm and meditative nature of this process. πŸ™‚

      • Spot on! I have only managed to wind two balls so far today because of various hiccups. All the while I was trying to be all calm and zen about it, because I was thinking about waxing lyrical to you!!

  11. Pingback: I Wander As I Wind . . . β€” Love Those “Hands at Home” – myfsrr

    • It’s funny–I get good pondering time when I walk, too, but it’s almost different from the warp winding. The winding tends to be more anticipatory, I guess, of the project to come while, when I walk, my mind is all over the place.

  12. So pretty! Are they to be Christmas gifts or are they for another craft fair? I can’t quite decide what to weave next but the studio is a mess and I really should do something about that. It’s a dark and stormy day here, so there’s a plan. ;-D

    • They’re for a craft show in a couple weeks. They’re off the loom and just need to be hemmed–I’ll post pix of the finished product soon! We’re having the dark and stormy day today– and I hope to do some studio tidying, too.

  13. We flew to Seattle for a work related conference. Linda brought along her knitting. While waiting for for the flight, a woman asked if she were heading to the knitting convention in Seattle this weekend. Hmmm. Knitting convention? Checked on-line at the hotel. Vogue sponsors these around the country. The woman did speak with a religious fervor about knitting. -Oscar

Leave a Reply

