The Wind She Blow . . .

IMG_1614

The wind she blow on Lak’ Champlain

By’m’by she blow some more.

You’ll never drown on Lak’ Champlain . . .

So long as you stay on shore.

–(to be spoken with a laconic and wry French-Canadian accent)

It’s inevitable.

Whenever the wind blows strong at our house on Lake Champlain, someone recites this old folk rhyme.

Take yesterday, for instance. Most of the rest of the United States was basking in spring warmth, enjoying outdoor activities, and doing garden chores.

On Lake Champlain, we were watching, in awe, as the waves crashed on the seawall and ice built up on . . . everything.

At least it wasn’t snow . . .

43 thoughts on “The Wind She Blow . . .

  1. Oooh, I’d love to hear a French Canadian accent! Meanwhile…. I’m in awe of all those ice-sculptures and can’t believe it’s so very cold with you. Hope you’ve woven yourselves a pair of VERY cosy scarves!

    • Margaret–I hope you see this comment! Can you check and see if my comments on your posts are going to spam? I tried commenting 3 times on your post about Phil (SO sorry for all these troubles!) and just tried to comment on the dog post–the comments show up but then seem to disappear. I don’t want you to think I’m uncaring in this sad, dreadful time for your family!

      • I’ve just found a whole load of your comments in spam, as you suggest. How can this be? We comment on each other’s posts all the time. I’m so glad you suggested looking there. I was a little surprised, I’ll admit. You’ve always been such a good blogging friend, and it seemed out of character for you merely to ‘like’ a post in which I talked about my son-in-law’s impending death. In fact you’ve sent so many lovely messages. Thank you, so much. Now, how to stop you coming over as a spammer? I may have to take this task on later, as I’m sure you realise.

      • Oh, thank goodness you know I wasn’t ignoring you! I am so automatic about “liking” my friends’ posts but, you’re right, I didn’t like that post at all. I HATE everything you’re going through. At some point I hope you’ll figure out what’s going on with the spam . . . but at least, for now, you know where to find me! And know that you’re always in my thoughts. At times like these, I wish I were the praying type . . .

  2. Wow! We had wind, about 3 inches of snow and then a microburst. It got very dark, the wind gusts were amazing and it looked like a blizzard. 15 minutes later the sun was out. And it’s snowing again today.

    • What a weird winter/spring we’ve had! We didn’t get a single flake of snow–but we did have the wind drama, obviously. And next week, it’ll probably be in the 70s!

  3. And here my son, who lives in Texas, was complaining about temps in the fifties. I sent him a photo of my daffs covered with snow. I should forward him your photos with the impressive ice sculpture.

    • People in Texas have thinner blood than we do! We have friends who spend the winters in Florida and who are coming home tomorrow–they’re in for a BIG shock!

  4. It’s funny how unpredictable “Spring” weather can be… you just never know. I’ve been wanting to plant a vegetable garden and some flowers, but I’m waiting, because… you just never know what the weather’s going to be like tomorrow.

    • I am always being seduced into putting annuals out too early–the rule here seems to be that we need to wait until somewhere after Mother’s Day, or even Memorial Day!

  5. My goodness that IS impressive! I assume you just stay cosy and warm inside and don’t go out into it, or risk losing your nose………. It’s just another weather phenomenon I can’t imagine Kerri – I’m starting to feel deprived! 🙂

    • Right–feeling deprived! This is one that it’s best to experience through photographs! It’s funny–on the leeward side of the house, it’s really quite pleasant. The winds were just crazy strong.

  6. The ultimate beauty of nature prevails! Great pics, Kerry. Thank goodness you have documented and “preserved” this untimely event. Before long things are bound to look very different and you will be writing about the beauty of a world transformed and welcoming new life.

    • I hope I’ll be writing about spring soon! You’re going to find it pretty cold when you get home tomorrow–but I’m sure things will turn around before too long . . .

  7. We had no snow, but it is very windy in eastern Iowa. (Western Iowa is oh so much worse.) Yesterday our gusts were in the 40s. Saturday in the 50s. That’s 50 mph winds, not temps. If you don’t like the weather, though, stick around. Yesterday high in the 70s (degrees) and today in the 40s. Always interesting! Stay warm, stay safe.

  8. Lovely photos!! And it has been warm here.. A little too warm for this time of year,Breeds tornadoes. The azaleas are beautiful though.

    • And, I have to say, I will take ice-encrusted deck furniture over tornadoes any day! I have a hard time imagining that weather phenomenon–seems terrifying.

    • It’s be there for awhile-still below freezing now. Those shrubs that are so ice-covered are false spirea and, as far as I can tell, nothing kills it. Some of the pieces may break but it’ll bounce back, i think.

    • The French-Canadian accent is pervasive here–I can fall into it in my own speaking, even though I have no French-Canadian in my genetic structure! The ice is still there so far but it should start to melt today . . . here’s hoping!

      • Good luck. The stream here is rushing and wide these days. I had no idea there were so many French-Canadians in your neck of the woods. Immigrant or second generation? (I need a history lesson.)

      • The county where I live borders Quebec; my house is about 15 miles from the border. I imagine some of the locals of French-Canadian descent have roots that go back to New France while I know some are first generation here. Our next door neighbors own their house here, one in rural Quebec, and have an apartment in Montreal! In the summer, many, many on this road are seasonal dwellers from Quebec. If you have a moment to kill, you can read more about the region here:
        https://lovethosehandsathome.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/at-home/

  9. I’m completely mesmerized by this ice phenomenon. I have not experienced ice like that ever! Although …..It is probably better experienced vicariously through your photos!
    Stay warm!! 🙂

    • What’s nice about this ice is that it was concentrated, just where the waves were hitting at a particular angle. So we didn’t have to deal with it on the roads or breaking limbs off trees. It’ll all be gone soon–it’s supposed to get above freezing today!

  10. It’s suppose to be in the 90’s in Northern California today, and four days of rain follow with temps in the 60-70s. Go figure…

  11. Pingback: Glimpses of Textiles in Old Novels, Part Two – Deep in the Heart of Textiles

Leave a Reply

