Michigan Red Hots–Hot Dog!

 

IMG_3809Looking for a new recipe for a tailgate or fall party? Need to feed a lot of people at a Super Bowl gathering? Want a recipe that most people will never have heard of before and will have them clamoring for more?

You need to make Michigan Red Hots!

Michigans have something for everyone. Well, except vegetarians. And the gluten intolerant. And dieters. Almost everyone.

They have a history, dating back to the 1920s.

They are the subject of long-standing debates and rifts among family members.

They are homey and regional yet are on the verge of being discovered. You can be on the leading edge of the Michigan revolution.

Make these now and you’ll be able to say, “I was Michigan before Michigan was cool!”

Okay, okay—so what is a Michigan? It’s a hot dog in a bun with meat sauce on top.

Don’t you think that sounds special? Well, it is.

Michigan Red Hots have been a favorite in the North Country of upstate New York almost 90 years. This area is the northeast corner of New York State, closer to Montreal, Quebec, and Burlington, Vermont, than New York City.

It’s not quite the same as a chili dog or a Coney or a Texas Red Hot.

In this part of the world, people have been going to roadside stands since the 1920s, looking for Michigans.

No one really knows where the recipe came from or why the delicacy is called a Michigan. There are many tales about Coney Island hot dogs meeting sauce made by a woman from Nashville. The Nashville woman married someone from Detroit and then they moved to Plattsburgh, New York, and starting selling the hot dogs and called them Michigans.

I say, who cares? It’s not important where the name came from. What’s important is trying Michigans at as many stands and diners as possible, to find the uber-Michigan.

Everyone, everyone, has an opinion about the best Michigan. Once there was a stand called Nitzi’s that was definitely in the running but Nitzi retired and sold the business but, the lore says, he didn’t pass his sauce recipe along to the new owners.

Is Nitzi’s sauce lost? Or is it being used at another small shop? Was it best?

Many will say Clare and Carl’s is best. You could buy them here, as long as the building continues to stand! clare carl's Others swear by Gus’s Red Hot’s as the quintessential Michigan. McSweeney’s is a relative newcomer, Ronnie’s has been around forever but is very different than all the others, and so on, and so on.

The differences among these are subtle but don’t try telling that to the fans of any of them. Husbands and wives can’t agree. Parents and children are split. Compromises abound—“I’ll go to Clare and Carl’s today but next time we go to Gus’s!

The keys for a Michigan seem to be:

  • A thick meat sauce, slightly hot with spices, spiced with cumin and almost grainy in consistency
  • A steamed hot dog, often a bright red hot dog made with a natural casing
  • A big, sturdy, top-cut bun
  • Rough-chopped raw onion, either on top or “buried” under the sauce
  • A line of yellow mustard

IMG_3822If you order a Michigan in a restaurant and want to sound like a local, you say “Two Michigans with” if you want onions. My husband says, “Two Michigans with, buried” and I say, “One Michigan, without.” They are usually served with French fries and coleslaw, which is all really nice but the focus here is on the Michigan.

In the last couple of years, the secret has started to get out. Serious Eats made the Michigan one of their hot dogs of the week a couple of years ago and the reviewer said, “New York state’s Michigan “Red Hots” are one of the most fascinating hot dog varieties that I’ve come across so far.”

Rachael Ray did what I consider to be an evil thing—presented a recipe for basic Michigan sauce but then felt the need to add macaroni and cheese to it and put the whole con-glop-eration on top of a hot dog. The woman has no sense of a) tradition or b) moderation!

If you can’t make it to upstate New York but yearn for this special treat, the recipe that follows is one I’ve had for about 30 years. It is purported to be Clare and Carl’s recipe but tastes, to me, more like the Michigans from Gus’s. Whatever. This recipe makes a sauce that is very close to the typical Michigan you’d get at most places in the North Country.

Michigan Sauce

1 29-ounce can of tomato sauce

2 pounds hamburger

3-6 tsp. chili powder (I use 4 ½)

2 tsp. dried onion*

2 tsp. garlic powder*

3-4 Tablespoons Tabasco sauce (I use 3 Tbls. and use Frank’s Hot Sauce because I lived in Buffalo a long time and Frank’s is the primary ingredient in Buffalo wing sauce!)

2 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. cumin

  • Mix all ingredients together, except meat.

  • IMG_3792Add meat raw and cook while stirring occasionally with a fork. The fork is important to get the consistency right! Michigan sauce doesn’t have chunks!

  • IMG_3798Simmer 2-3 hours. You can do this all in a slow cooker but, if you leave the top on, the sauce will be very soupy. You want the sauce to be pretty thick when it’s done.

The recipe makes quite a lot of sauce. I freeze some of it in ice cube trays and, when the cubes are frozen, I pop them out and put them in the freezer in a freezer bag. Then, when I want a Michigan, I just grab two cubes and put them in the microwave for a little while!

If you’re not a fan of hot dogs, you can put Michigan sauce on a hamburger roll, for a Sloppy Joe kind of sandwich; up here that’s called a sauce burger!

* You can get fancy and use real onion and garlic—maybe it’ll taste good but it won’t be a Michigan any more!

IMG_3809

121 thoughts on “Michigan Red Hots–Hot Dog!

  1. My brother and I were just talking about meat sauce for hot dogs that we used to buy in jars at the supermarket. Can’t find that any more. Thanks for the recipe!

      • I live in TX but grew up in Keeseville, NY on Lake Champlain. There are so many of us old class mates spread all over the country that talk every day on Facebook. Someone always gets a craving for michigans and then we all have to have them so I keep small containers frozen, but love your icecube idea. Oh and for me it was always Nitzi’s… but love McSweenie’s also. Thanks.

      • I love hearing from North Country folks around the country! My husband and I thawed some Michigan sauce cubes just last night, even though Gus’s is only a few miles away. You ever know when the mood for a Michigan will hit you!

  2. Ha, not for the gluten free society you say?: ANYTHING can be made gluten free,I dare say.
    That sauce is easy peacy, folks just watch out you use gluten free spices! Than the hot dog: if you are so lucky like me to have an Aldi supermarket close by, check out their enormous selection of the most delicious gluten free sausages and hotdogs. Otherwise Kroger has some good ones as well. Udi’s makes really good hot dog buns: I toast them 30 sec on the BBQ after I spread them with a little butter.
    And than I will say, ‘Yes give me a Michigan Red Hot…buried!’
    Great post Kerry and I love than mustard bottle of yours! Hugs from your friend in Ohio.

    • See–you knew I was thinking of you when I said gluten intolerant! Isn’t it amazing how you can translate almost anything into gluten free? I had no idea Aldi’s was a good resource for this. Well, I hope you try the sauce and let me know what you think!

    • Just an FYI. Trader Joes has a good gluten free hotdog and their bf hotdog buns are good. I prefer Glacier’s hotdogs but beggars can’t be choosers

      • I am from Plattsburgh, NY and this recipe is similar to the one I use and to make it even easier it works great in a crockpot too!

      • The only issue I had with making the sauce in a crockpot was that t was very wet and soupy–I think I need to leave the cover off for part of the cooking time. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Pingback: Detroit Coney Dog | The Great American Feast

  4. Pingback: Going Once, Going Twice: IBMTD #3 | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  5. Pingback: Nobody Knows the Truffles I’ve Seen | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  6. Being from the North Country of New York (Plattsburgh) I have often wondered why Michigan’s haven’t caught on before this. Not only do different “Michigan” stands, as they are called up here in the “Nort Country,” have different sauces but families have different recipes. There is always great debate on who has the best. I think my wife’s sauce is the best…..

    • I think it’s lovely that you like your wife’s best! I live just outside of Plattsburgh and we try different Michigans and compare notes but I think I like Gus’s best. The recipe I posted tastes like Gus’s to me.

      • there is a small store as you drive into Ausable NY.. They have great Michigans and very in-expensive

  7. I was born and raised in Plattsburgh, NY Home of Clare and Carls and I worked as a carhop there and there is NO tomato sauce in a Michigan. It gets it’s color from the spices — mainly the chili powder. We got our recipe from someone who claims he got it from Clare’s grandson…

  8. Just made 15 pounds of Michigan Sauce 2 weeks ago – the Nitzi recipe, but still nothing compares to the taste and the feel of being served in your car at any of the many stands. I prefer Ronnies, like a little sweetness, and I use cayenne pepper for the spiciness when making my own. Not so shamefully, have ordered 3 dozen to go to have in the parking lot of Brown’s Funeral Home when my Grandma died in December in 1999
    ! Our family celebration of her life with all the moved away cousins via a funeral home tailgate party! And if you happen to be in Plattsburgh during Lent and it’s Friday, you have a special dispensation from the Pope to eat meat on Friday – as long as it’s Michigans!

  9. It has been years since I had a Michigan. I left Plattsburgh in 1969. I will try your recipe. I have always been split between Clair and Carl’s and Nitzi. Thanks for the post.

  10. Kathy Corrigan, I agree with you that the original sauce had no tomato sauce. The late Bob Collins, who had a Michigan stand in Chazy Lake, said he worked at Nitzi’s when he was young and he said that the sauce simply consisted of meat, water and a chili spice blend that was purchased from a spice company in Pennsylvania.

  11. Clinton County’s Michigan Sauce’s tend to be spicy. Essex County’s Michigan Sauce’s, for example, Gene’s in Port Henry NY, tend to be sweeter. There is no wrong way, I can’t remember having a bad Michigan yet!

  12. Actually, there is a way for vegetarians to enjoy Michigans. I’m a North Country native who doesn’t eat meat and we came up with a great recipe. It takes some time, but if you are a vegetarian or pescatarian who likes to cook, you’ll love it. Here’s the story:

    California Beach Veggie Michigans

    The Overlord and I became pescatarians 6 months ago. That’s just a fancy way of saying we eat fish and tons of fruit, vegetables, grains, beans, eggs, and dairy but we stay away from beef, poultry, and pork. We did it for both health reasons and as our small way of giving the finger to Big Food and its reliance on growth hormones, filthy processing plants, and GMOs, not to mention the record of animal abuse and general uneasy quesiness vibe of factory food. We are well-aware of the alternatives to Big Food and those are great options if you are a dedicated beef, poultry, or pork eater; we are not. We happen to love fish and vegetables more than the other stuff so the decision was an easy one.

    Then it hit me: what about Michigans? We must have Michigans!

    We have been making bean burgers and loaf for a few months, thanks to the inspiration of both the Green Temple, a vegetarian restaurant in Redondo Beach, CA, and Vedge, a vegetarian cookbook given to me by the Overlord’s mother last Christmas. (It’s also a vegetarian restaurant in the Overlord’s home city of Philadelphia). So why not incorporate that concept as the basis for a vegetarian Michigan sauce? The idea is to whip up a big ol’ pot of beans, run ’em through a food processor, and then add tomato sauce to loosely replicate a traditional meat sauce. Simple, right?

    But first, you need to get your beans right. If a neophyte like me mastered it, you can, too. Here’s a primer:

    From Rebecca Orchanton on Huffington Post:

    ***The biggest lie that every disciple of dried beans has ever told you is that you have to soak them overnight. You can soak them overnight. You should, if you have the foresight. Let me confess something to you: I have never had the foresight to soak dried beans overnight. The quick-soak method is your friend. As Adler puts it: “If you didn’t put two cups of beans in a pot of cold water last night, get on the bandwagon today by putting them in a pot, covering them with five inches of water, bringing it to a boil, turning off the heat, and leaving them sitting in hot water, covered, for an hour. Then drain them and cover them with new water.” (The draining is essential, as that water contains all the parts of beans that make them the musical fruit.)
    Okay, so you’ve covered your beans in new water — now what? This part is a bit like making stock. Your beans are going to taste like whatever you flavor this next batch of water with. There should be a bit of salt (you can always adjust later, so use a light hand), pepper, any herbs you have on hand, a chunk of carrot, celery, fennel, onion, a Parmesan rind.
    Most importantly, as Adler puts it, there needs to be an “immoderate, Tuscan amount of olive oil,” which I’ve taken to mean as much as I think is enough, and then a bit more. The major argument for using dried beans rather than canned is that you get to dictate what these beans taste like. Canned beans are great in a pinch, and I still use them when time is a concern or they are not the star of the dish, but they all just taste like canned beans. Dried beans, cooked in this way taste like vegetables. Like they grew out of dirt. And then drank a bunch of olive oil and herbs and swelled up like balloons full of flavor. The older your beans are, the longer they’ll take, so if you pull a giant bag off the supermarket shelf, you’ll be able to make them delicious, but it will just take a little more time.
    You’ll want to bring all of these ingredients to a boil, and then immediately bring your pot down to a slow simmer, uncovered the whole time. How long should you cook these? One more bit of advice from Adler: when five beans eaten straight from the pot are tender and full of flavor. If you’re using Rancho Gordo beans, it will take less time than you think. Plan for an hour or two. (And a note on liquid: the goal is not to cook beans until the liquid is gone, like rice. If you do that, you will cook these into wallpaper paste. The liquid your beans cook in is delicious. If the dish you’re using your beans in doesn’t require a bit of extra liquid/stock, save this bean broth for other uses. Like, um, drinking it from a mug because it’s so good.)***

    Okay. Now that that’s been cleared up, here’s the recipe for the bean portion of our California Beach Veggie Michigans:

    Beans:
    2 cups dried beans (preferably peruano or garbanzo)–follow the procedure above and add:
    1 medium-sized onion, chopped
    6 cloves garlic, chopped
    4 carrots, chopped
    15 mushrooms (approximate), chopped
    5-6 celery stalks, chopped
    1 bell pepper, chopped
    1 Anaheim chile, chopped
    Spices: to taste (we used S&P, Spike, cumin, dried thyme, and porcini powder)

    Sauce:
    16 oz tomato sauce
    3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
    8 teaspoons chili powder (or to taste)
    2 teaspoons cumin
    2-3 tablespoons hot sauce (or to taste)
    2 teaspoons dried mined onion
    2 teaspoons black pepper
    Squirt ketchup (or to taste)

    Veggie Dogs:
    Your choice of brand. Boil, grill or microwave as you like.

    After the big ol’ pot of beans is done (and you have remembered to drain the beans and keep all that awesome bean juice), run them through a food processor or blender. Add processed beans to the sauce recipe above in a clean pot and bring to a simmer. Nestle veggie dog into a split-top roll, ladle a copious amount of sauce across the top, add onions if desired (or bury ’em), and enjoy.

    Summer never tasted so good!

    (No cows or pigs were harmed during the making of these Michigans®)

    • How amazing! You should be writing your own blog, just so you can share this recipe! I’m not vegetarian but I still find this very intriguing! Thanks for taking the time to post it!

  13. Myfather ran a bakery in Plattsburgh, Carl would stop by and chat with my Dad at the bakery….I go to Clare and Carl’s.

    • I think a lot of us have favorites based on these kinds of relationships you mention. Ronnies was a lot closer to our house than Clare and Carl’s so we went there more often and that was what we got used to a Michigan tasting like.

  14. If you want to sound like a local when you order Michigans, don’t say “michigan” when you order one. Order two or more, but NEVER say “michigan”. The server will know what you mean when you say, “two with buried”.
    And if you’re going to make your own sauce don’t do anything other than what the recipe calls for.
    The buns need to be steamed too.
    My dad ran Nitzi’s after Nitzi left.

    • I’m loving all these extra details people are leaving in the comments here! Steamed buns are important, indeed! A friend made my recipe and used fresh garlic and onion–no!! That’s not what the recipe calls for!

  15. Miss them so, I liked Nitze’s in Pburgh and Art Douglas’s Village Inn in AuSable Forks. Arts was the best ever. and that’s right folks, NO tomato of any kind in the sauce, 🙂 🙂

  16. I have the original recipe for Clare & Carls michigan sauce and the above recipe is correct when it states it’s more like Gus’ sauce. C&C’s is a little different but they all are great tasting sauces. As a kid my parents did the Nitzi’s/Clare&Carls taste test. I for one couldn’t tell which was tastier but I sure was full after 4 michigans.

  17. I moved south and miss the north country michigans, one of the best is Ethels Dew Drop Inn located in Willsboro, Essex county… family owned and operated for many years, I always buy extra sauce to bring back south with me when I travel home, another well protected recipe

  18. Now in the supermarkets you can buy Michigan sauce mix in a package from a local business called “A Taste Of The Adirondacks.” All you need is the hamburg and water. Comes in mild and spicy. Spicy is the best and it’s not that hot, more warm. Tastes just like Clare n Carl’s. This is also great because it can be easily mailed to those who live far away and crave the taste of a good old North on try michigan!

    • I saw this in the store recently! I didn’t buy it because I like my own recipe just fine but, you’re right, it would be perfect for a “care package”!

    • I’m a Dannemora girl, lived in/near Plattsburgh most of my adult life, until we moved to Alabama 8 yrs ago. I miss michigans!! I do make my own down here, but always go to C&C’s When I’m home. Luckily, I’ll be home for the michigan festival later this month!! What I’m wondering is where do you buy the michigan sauce packets?? I would certainly be interested in trying it!! Thanks!

      • Isn’t a Michigan festival a great idea?! I hope it becomes a yearly event. I *think* I saw the michigan sauce packets in Hannaford, in the back, near where they have boboli and pizza items. If I remember, it’s a seasoning packet and you add your own meat.

  19. Now in the supermarkets you can buy Michigan sauce mix in a package from a local business called “A Taste Of The Adirondacks.” All you need is the hamburg and water. Comes in mild and spicy. Spicy is the best and it’s not that hot, more warm. Tastes just like Clare n Carl’s. This is also great because it can be easily mailed to those who live far away and crave the taste of a good old North Country michigan!

  20. Greetings from Melbourne Fl. I was born & raised in Plattsburgh. Fond memories reading these..I must say it was always CLARE & Carls Michigans. However, McSweeneys as far as I’m concerned is same receipe. I do have same however I am curious to try making it with water as I too make it with tomato sauce.( hummmm,interesting)Thanks to all who wrote in as I recognize some of you. My heart is always back in the beautiful North Country. My email hpy2bme4@gmail.com. Love to hear from you! Marie Paolucci Maxwell

    • I was fascinated to hear that some Michigan sauce is made without tomato sauce, too! I find it hard to believe but those folks seem to know what they’re talking about. Thanks for stopping by!

  21. Hello from upstate NY on Thanksgiving Day… I am born and raised in Plattsburgh… Michigans are a staple in our family… I take 10 lbs of hamburg and make a huge batch…. freeze it in quart size freezer bags… and have it ready for 6 months… McSweeneys sauce is the same as Claire and Carls…. but honestly family receipes are the best…. can’t say that we ever eat just a hot dog… always a Michigan with… my 5 year old twin grandsons order… Michigan with and french fries…

    • I love that image of the little boys, ordering their Michigans just so! It’s funny–I’ve never had a McSweeneys Michigan. They weren’t around when I was a kid and so they still don’t seem to register when I think Michigans. Now that I’m back living in the North Country, I guess I should really get out there and try all my options.

  22. You can order Michigan Sauce from Borderview Grocery in Champlain NY ww.michiganhotdogsauce.com/store.html

  23. I was born and raised in Westport NY and loved Gene’s michigans, in Port Henry, though if in Plattsburgh we always went to Nitzi’s. Many childhood memories of rolling down the car windows so you could place the tray of michigans on the window. I still get michigans when I’m home to visit….still go to Gene’s, though it has a different owner now.

  24. Reblogged this on Love Those "Hands at Home" and commented:

    Are you looking for something different for your 4th of July picnic? Want a regional American recipe for your summer celebration? This post, about Michigan red hots from upstate New York, is BY FAR my most popular post ever!

  25. I’m trying to be open-minded here, but I’m not at all understanding the appeal of this dish. Sorry! Is it one of those traditions you have to be born into?

    • You get first prize for candor, Margaret!! Where does the ick factor start for you? Just with the hot dogs? I don’t think the UK has a hot dog fetish the way Americans do.

  26. My mother and aunt would get into a heated debate on where to go for a Michigan. One liked Nitzi the other Clare & Carl’s. Nitzi’s Michigan was a little sweeter and Clare & Carls a little more Spicer. Well That is what I thought. I was always ready to go to either place but I did prefer Nitiz’s Michigan. My wife makes a good homemade Michigan but still you can’t beat pulling up to Clare and Carl’s and having them bring it to your car to enjoy. Will be up for a visit this summer and they will be a must stop for us.

    • The Michigan stand closest to our house was Ronnie’s (though there was also a place called the Root Beer Barrel nearby for awhile, too). And the people who owned Gus’s–their kids went to our school so we went there, too. But, you’re right, there’s something about driving up to Clare and Carl’s, while the building slowly falls toward the ground, that says “summer!”

  27. This was such a fun blog! I’d be with. Buried. Yum. I’m saving this recipe to try. I kept thinking it sounded like a chili dog, but the recipe is, indeed different.

    • DO try it sometime! I freeze the sauce in ice cube trays and then transfer the frozen cubes into a ziptop bag. Then I can have a michigan whenever the spirit moves me!

  28. I am a serious fan of a regional hot dog – In Copenhagen, we ate at three different hot dog stands trying to find the best Danish dog. It was a delicious competition. I have never heard of a Michigan but I bet my husband would love it. I think it’ll be the perfect thing for one of our BBQs this summer! I’ll definitely be taking mine “with.” =)

  29. Pingback: Never Again = Pretty Soon | Love Those "Hands at Home"

  30. Pingback: Garage Sale Post-Mortem: By the Numbers | Love Those "Hands at Home"

    • Oh, I have my own sauce in the freezer–and we all like our own sauce best! There’s actually a Michigan festival being held today–and I can’t go because need to go to a relative’s 90th b’day party. But that will be fun, too!

  31. McSweenie’s when passing through the ‘burgh with their home-made fries. Don’t be fooled by the Quebec version which is a spaghetti meat sauce on top of the frank.

  32. Back visiting Plattsburgh after 25 years….first place we went was to Nitzi’s……now called McSweeney’s with Nitzi’s name on the rooftop! Perfect Michigan’s and we are now trying to figure out the recipe once more.

  33. Ate at Nizis nearly everyday…stationed at Plattsburg Air Base….best ever….I can still taste them…will make this sauce….In Schenectady, N.Y. they use thyme in the sauce…somewhat different flavor, but yummy…went to Gus’s too…then head out on a ferry boat to Vermont from Plattsburg..we lived across from Lake Champlain at Prays Beach…until moving to Peru, N.Y. a little further north….great memories…..

    • You know, I was a picky eater as a kid, and while Nitzi’s was still around, I refused to eat Michigans so I never had one from there! Now I kick myself! I hope the sauce recipe works for you!

  34. My mother grew up in the Plattsburgh area as a child going there to visit from Iowa Michigans were always made for big family gatherings . I still make my mothers recipe and of course with glazier hot dogs the very best dogs in the USA .

  35. I’ve made it my life’s work to find THE BEST Michigan sauce recipe. I spent summers in Port Henry when I was a kid and we ALWAYS went to Gene’s. I live in California now but go back to Gene’s whenever I visit my cousins in Port Henry. I had relatives in Plattsburgh too so I’ve sampled Michigans up there as well. I am excited to try your recipe tonight! I’ll let you know if it measures up to Gene’s ! I am expecting great things! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    • Oh, wow–now I’m nervous you didn’t like it! I have heard so much about Gene’s but have never had it–I need a road trip to Port Henry. Let me know what you think of the sauce recipe and how you would change it, to make it better!

      • I made your sauce last night. I thought that I had no Frank’s Hot Sauce so I started to add Tabasco. After 1 T I found the Frank’s and added 1T. The sauce was a bit too hot for my taste but I think it was because Tabasco is quite a bit hotter than Frank’s. My husband loved it though! Next time I will just use Frank’s. All in all it’s a great recipe, although nothing will ever replace Gene’s as I remember it from my youth ( I went there last summer and it didn’t quite measure up to my childhood expectations). Thanks for the recipe and the ongoing blog!

      • I’m glad you liked it! And don’t you sometimes wonder about those childhood memories? My grandmother made sour cream cookies and I’ve never tasted anything so good . . . . Long live the Michigan!

  36. Mrs Otis recipe (nitzis recipe)

    Michigan Sauce:
    4 tsp. chili powder
    2 tsp. cumin
    2 tsp. red pepper (crushed red pepper)
    2 tsp. black pepper (I halved and was fine) 2 tsp. minced onion
    1 Tbs. Hot Sauce
    24 oz. tomato sauce
    2 lbs. lean ground beef
    Put all ingredients in slow cooker, mash down with potato masher (makes the consistency correct…no chunks). Cook 6 – 8 hours in slow cooker.
    To Serve: place the hot dog in a warm bun, place a line of yellow mustard across the dog. Spoon the Michigan Sauce over the hot dog and mustard; sprinkle with chopped onions (lightly or liberally depending on taste) over the Michigan Sauce (this is the only food I ever put raw onion on). Serve with a cold glass of chocolate milk.

      • Yes…me too…also would like to add that salt was added at the end to taste…theory was that adding salt at beginning of cook caused it to become mushy…(probably due to denaturing of protein via sodium leading to a soft texture especially in a fine ground forcemeat)…..either way, a bit of salt, IMHO should be added as a flavor enhancer….a modern day chefs recipe would probably include msg….wouldn’t surprise me…..thanks for sharing!

  37. Make no mistake, The owner of McSwenney’s usd to work at Clare and Carl’s. He left and opened shop with Clare and Carl’s recipe. She took him to court and won, but he only changed the recipe a little and made it a hair spicier. To open a shop almost across the road was a slap in the face. Not cool at all. Clare and Carl’s renaissance the best around. If you want a very disrespectful copy, try McSweeney’s.

    And yes, Nitzy’s was great too.

    No other place compares to these places. Certainly not Gus’s!

  38. Thats not clare n carls Michigan sauce i know for fact because i have it. And im not giving it to you. Let me leave you a tip its definitely not 2 pounds of meat its 5. Your ingredients are all wrong and way off

Leave a Reply

